We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Le Doyen

Le Doyen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Although Le Doyen is but a stone's throw from the Place Dalton it is down a small side street, so most of the tourist traffic passes it by. We did take the precaution of booking - a necessity as even on a mid-week lunchtime it was full, and la patronne was turning people away. The restaurant is small and cosy - traditionally French (with a fun beach tableau in the window). There is an upstairs dining room but capacity is limited.
Service was swift and friendly and our food delicious; foie gras or prawns as our starters, and perfectly cooked beef fillet to follow, with a delicious ratatouille, salad and potato croquettes, not chips. We had a pichet of the house red which was perfectly acceptable (the wine list is remarkably varied, and not expensive) and we had creme brulee and nougat glacee for our desserts, both excellent. The plates of seafood pasta coming out for other diners looked both large and appetising. There are differently priced set menus - we took the 26 euro top-of-the-tree one - but the others are varied and all the dishes were beautifully presented.

We could not fault it. I always think that a restaurant jam-packed with locals, as this was, cannot be bad, and Le Doyen to us proved the point. We would certainly visit again if we can get in!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We were here years ago & we were so pleased it was still in business when we visited Boulogne again . Amazingly it has not changed & still in the hands of the same owner's. Who work hard to deliver excellent food at reasonable prices.
It's a lovely experience to eat here don't be in a hurry relax & have time to enjoy this unique gem. It really ticks all the boxes if you are looking for a cosy place to eat that is very French.
They don't cater for large numbers so pre book or you may be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank john z m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Small but traditional restaurant. Full on a wet windy February night.
Food is first class, all fresh local produce. We had the 3 course 20-50 euro menu. Superb.
1 tip- book or you may be disappointed

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Hairy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for the 2nd time today on a day trip to France. We had prebooked a table this time as we were a party of 14 so would have struggled to get in!

The restaurant itself is quite small- about 15 tables probably. Decorated in a French Rural Style- it reflects the family nature of the business in the decor.

There are a selection of set menu's that we could choose from- and I believe that there is an a la carte menu as well although I don't know if this is only available at certain times. These start at about €12 but Most of us chose the most expensive menu which was €26.50 for 3 courses. All of the food we had was excellent- I started with the Fois Gras, then had the Pave Filet Steak with Green Pepper sauce, and asked for this to be Cooked Medium (knowing that often in France that means Rare!) and it was absolutely perfect for me. A good solid wedge of melt in the mouth steak, served with creamy sauce, fried potatoes, mushrooms and salad. For pudding I had the Grande Assiette du Gourmade which was a fantastic selection of small dessert portions- there was a Creme Brûlée, a Chocolate Tart, a Chocolate Cake, a huge profiterole, a pear tart and a black currant sorbet, all with cream. Highly recommend this pudding if you have got room!!! So delicious....

The mixed grilled fish and seafood gratin were highly recommended by other diners, and the classic french options on the list such as Snails were also really good.

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the husband and wife team work very hard. We think that the menu was extremely good value for the standard of food on offer.

There are plenty of drink options, some alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails if you are in the mood and a moderate wine selection. We shared a few pitchers of the house red and white which were both good.

Altogether the menu was about €32 a head.

The restaurant is located just off the square, but you can't drive up the street where it is so will need to find parking nearby. There are pay bays on the main road.

Will definitely be going back next time we are in the area!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank TheGourmetClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit having been just over a year ago. Sometimes a mistake to revisit and this time it was. The meal was average, the price was above average and the service was less than average. Such a shame.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Doyen also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Doyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing