We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good in a tourist area”
Review of Chez Jules

Chez Jules
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We stopped here for a late lunch en route to Calais..I didn’t expect much as the restaurant is situated in a very touristy square next to a church popular with visitors.
The square has several restaurants all next to each other, so we went for the busiest...even though that meant sitting inside as all the shaded tables outside were taken.
The staff did not speak very much English, but we managed to get by with our very bad French and google translator.
We ordered a variety of dishes, including the plat d’jour, Crab, mussels, farmer’s chicken and the brochettes giant (large meat kebab). We had a fairly long wait for the food to arrive, but when it did the portions were very generous and the food excellent. The kebab was simply enormous and was served with a full plate of fries- enough food for at least 2 people. All the dishes were well cooked and had clearly been made with care.
The 3 course set menu proved very good value and we were all very full when we left. Well worth visiting when in Boulogne old town.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bobtheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

On arrival in Boulogne we were looking for a restaurant that served seafood and this was recommended by the hotel. It was certainly the place to be, busy and noisy.
The service was a tad slow, we arrived at 8:15 and left after 10pm for two courses, the first being crudités, the second shellfish... not a lot of preparation.
Similarly for two courses at €98 for two people it was not cheap.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank hero_hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Quantity rather than quality. The food served was very edible but not delicious. The portions especially the starters were huge.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kerin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Went here as a cpuple early in the evening and got a table easily enough. By 9 om it was full. Food was very good and service was good when quiet, but then less so when full. By the time we had desserts waiting for service took longer. Not enough staff....but cannot fault the food.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SteveDoverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Great, delicious meals in this restaurant. Service and staff are top and food is of high quality and at a good price.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank XanaRibeiro-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Jules also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Chez Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing