We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab place to stay - amazing hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pessac, Bordeaux, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab place to stay - amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I stayed here in June when visiting Bordeaux to support Wales in Euro '16. We had a really lovely time.

The accommodation is just perfect for a self catering stay, spotlessly clean and with all the facilities you could need.

Valerie and Jean-Luc and their gorgeous children were the perfect hosts - generous and friendly with bags of useful advice.

I am hoping to return soon with a group of friends and look forward to a bit more sightseeing and wine tasting.

If you are looking to stay in the area you couldn't pick anywhere better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra K
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and hosts – highly recommended!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Valérie and Jean-Luc are the most generous, committed and passionate hosts we have ever met. They gave us a great welcome and we immediately felt at home in their beautifully furnished cottage. Everything there is of high quality and made with love.

They both made a tremendous effort to explain where and how to best explore the region. Their insider tips were of great value.
The garden and terrace are lovely, unfortunately it was too cold over Easter to enjoy. But we fully profited from the broad view into the green. The location is extremely calm, not a sound at night, except for the birds in the morning. Easy to get delicious baguettes and croissants every morning from the nearby bakery, and a supermarket is right there, too.

The cottage is perfectly situated for visitors who want to explore not only the city of Bordeaux, but also the beautiful places along the Atlantic and the wine region by car. For Bordeaux, we took the tram which was very convenient.

Ideal for visitors who don’t speak French but enjoy communication with their hosts: Both Valérie (an English teacher) and Jean-Luc are fluent in English, and Valérie even speaks German.

We had a gorgeous week at Le Clos de la Treille and we will definately come again next time we’ll be in Bordeaux. Le Clos de la Treille and its wonderful hosts are more than highly recommended to anyone – all our friends in Berlin are already waiting for their chance to spend the next vacation there – so you better hurry to book!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaRich78
Hamilton Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our 5 week family trip to Spain and France”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem Le Clos de la Treille is. The moment we pulled into Valerie and Jean-Luc's tucked away driveway and saw a large Aussie flag welcoming us, and then saw their gorgeous property, we had giant smiles on our faces. It's hard to say exactly what makes a holiday house special. It's a combination of many things. This place has it all - and more.
1) Location - Close to all Bordeaux's wonders but in a quiet and stunning property. Also walking distance to a bakery and supermarket which we found very handy. We followed Valerie's advice to use the cheap local tramways so we didn't need to find parking in the City Centre. Our kids loved this day trip.
2) Facilities - We were in desperate need of a washing machine and this property had this and everything we needed to self-cater. It was the only place we felt immediately "at home" - all the little touches Valerie adds with fresh homemade cakes waiting on our table and beautiful linen made this property feel warm and inviting.
3) Child friendly - For us, with 9 and 6 year old boys, having a large garden to play in and explore made a world of difference. My boys were delighted when they found books to read at bed time. Valerie had thoughtfully put English children’s books on their bunk beds for them to discover. Valerie and Jean-Luc also have 2 children and all four had a wonderful time playing together. Another highlight for my boys was being invited to bake cookies with Valerie and her children. Valerie made sure all the kids had turns to roll out dough, make shapes and then decorate with all sorts of yummy toppings. What a treat!
4) Hosts – It’s not often you meet people who really love what they do. Valerie delivered delicious homemade goodies almost every day and was always happy to answer all our itinerary questions. Valerie’s attention to detail and amazing collections of guide books, brochures and day trip options are incredible. Make sure you book in plenty of time here because there is so much to see and do and Valerie has a huge array of suggestions to suit particular tastes. The best memories from holidays abroad usually come from connections with the local people. It was an unexpected pleasure to get to know Valerie and Jean-Luc. They both speak fluent English (unfortunately we speak very little French). When I commented on her beautiful bed and table linen, she immediately volunteered to take me shopping to the best linen factory outlets. It was the beginning of what I hope to be a lifelong friendship.

Recommending Le Clos de la Treille is easy and I have friends and family already wanting to experience Valerie and Jean-Luc’s memorable hospitality. We hope to visit again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, hosts Valerie and Jean-Luc, the food, the location
Liked least: We had everything we needed at this property. Only wish we had more time to explore the area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraderBo
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Perfect Place from which to Explore the Bordeaux Region”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a guest house adjoining the impressive main property where the owners live with two small children. Our initial slight concerns for privacy were proven unfounded - the owners are the most wonderful people and there was never an issue of privacy. Quite the contrary - we had booked the rental several months in advance and thanks to the energetic Valerie, we felt like family long before we even arrived! She provided us with such excellent area information and advice for our excursions that it was like having our very own tour guide!

The property is located in an upscale and quiet neighborhood in Pessac on the outskirts of the city of Bordeaux. This proved to be an excellent base for our excursions to several vineyard and winery attractions, such as Chateau Pape Clement in Pessac (just a 10 minute drive), Chateau Smith Haut Lafite (unbelievably beautiful, just half an hour away, where we had the wine tasting of our lives), the famous Chateau Lynch-Barges in riverside Pouillac (an hour's drive through a pretty part of Bordeaux with numerous chateux), and the city of Bordeaux itself that you reach best by just taking the city bus from the other side of the street (45 minutes, a nice and low cost sightseeing trip for EUR 1.50/person each way).

The guest house is spacious and very comfortable for 2 or 4 people (it was just my wife and myself so very nice). The workmanship and quality of the interior beats the best hotels, and that includes the bathroom, shower, towels, bed-linen, and kitchen.

The Internet was a tad unstable at times, and the owners attributed it to some issues they experienced after two cable operators merged their operations but it was not a real problem. Jean-Luc restarted the router a couple of times and we were quickly online again. Apart from French TV channels there is a large number of non-French free-to-air and ethnic channels but no regular pay-TV fare such as CNN, ESPN, CNBC, etc. Well, if you are on vacation you hardly need that anyway!

The owners are the most gracious and hospitable people you can encounter and since Valerie is a local and accomplished English teacher, non-French speakers (like ourselves) will have an easy time to get advice on what to do and see. There is an ample supply of maps and guide books in the property, but the best way is simply to tell Valerie what you are interested in and she will suggest more things to do than you will have time to accomplish - and she will happily make phone calls on your behalf to book vineyard visits, suggest local restaurants, etc. We have rented places in several countries but never had such great local support!

We stayed for a week and time flew by all too quickly but that's of course a sign of having had a good time and we left with many fond memories. We drove back to the TGV train station in Angouleme where we had originally arrived for the prior week's visit to Cognac. On the way we stopped over for a couple of hours in the very pretty wine town of Saint Emilion - cobble stone streets and picturesque old buildings, wine shops galore and beautiful vistas (but, alas, also very touristy).

If you have your ways by Bordeaux, you can hardly find a nicer base than "Le Clos de la Treille" - quiet, comfortable, ample parking in the front yard of the rental, and in the care of the wonderful owners Valerie and Jean-Luc.Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of Workmanship and Interior
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
154913Den...
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Comfortable, a Definite Must!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first time in the Bordeaux area. We would definitely stay here again! The home was spacious, well equipped, very clean and wonderfully decorated. It was very comfortable and relaxed staying here. Our owners Jean Luc and Valerie went out of their way to make us feel at home and provided us with a multitude of suggestions for things to do, restaurants, etc. Their English language skills are excellent. They are a very warm and friendly family and very pleased we rented with them. Valerie also supplied much information even before we left Canada!

If you don't want to drive into Bordeaux you can use the Park & Ride at Pessac Alouette and for 4.50 Euro return, you can take the Tram into the city for the day. We did this three times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very new rental; clean, spacious; great owners!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;