We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great holiday home”
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade
Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
10x4m South facing heated salt water pool with Roman End - no added chlorine & better for your s
Beautiful south facing house located in a tranquil setting on the edge of Sarlat & Beynac.
Full size chef designed kitchen, granite worktops, stone floor, range cooker, full size dishwasher..
Ensuite shower room for the twin bedroom with expose chimney breast & oak beams.
Sarlat holiday home - wonderful space and views. South facing terrace with parasols if required.
Apartment kitchen looking through to living room
Comfortable living area with exposed stone walls, oak beams, oak flooring, log burner, British TV
Ensuite shower room for the twin/superking room with a walk in shower, toilet & sink.
House King bedroom with comfortable 5ft memory foam pocket spring mattress & ensuite shower room
Quality fully fitted solid wood kitchen, granite tops, dishwasher, waste disposal, range cooker.....
Apartment kitchen
Apartment ensuite shower room
Apartment ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Swimming pool with shallow & deep ends, south facing stone terracing, 6 sun loungers & paras
Beautiful Beynac, Sarlat, La Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Domme are all within a 3-10 minute drive
The Dordogne river - a day spent canoe past the Chateaux is a must or take a leisurely boat trip.
Magnificent Beynac
Our nearby secret river swimming & picnic spot, virtually empty even in July & August!
Sarlat holiday home - comfortable accommodation for your friends & family in a spacious 16thC home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lesleykel...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“great holiday home”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

had a fantastic time the cottage was all we hoped for and more. children loved pool and were in it every day. they also were very taken with the free range chickens..
owner great for local knowledge and we visited places we would not otherwise have seen.
short distance from sarlat and beynac which was very convenient. the week just flew by. we would visit again. we have recommended to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house was set in beautiful countryside
Liked least: nothing to not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peckolins
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Idyllic French retreat”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in May 2014

Sublime. We found this house on the Home and Away website and booked it for ourselves and another couple we travel with as part of milestone birthday celebratory trip. And what a treat it was. We were only there for 5 days, which wasn't long enough, but we made the most of it. Xanthe was fantastic to deal with pre our arrival and upon our arrival she and Hamish couldn't do enough to make us welcome and relaxed.
The house is impressive, very comfortable with loads of space. The private pool was a dream and we loved having it to ourselves. Having the owners close enough to take advantage of their knowledge and free range egg supply was a bonus. The property has all the amenities you need for a relaxed and luxurious stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, private pool, tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you and the Ukulele playing was brilliant! We are so glad you are returning soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenMD
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely area and home, but misleading listing”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I agree with the other reviews here that the Sarlat area in general and this location in particular is a wonderful place to take a vacation. The scenery, attractions, history, and food are marvelous. The house is very attractive and comfortable and the pool couldn't be lovelier. Hammish was friendly, answered all our questions, and guided us towards interesting things to do.

That being said, I would like to warn future travelers that we found the listing to be misleading.

First, no where in the write-up would you get the idea that the owners live in the same building. I was quite surprised when I arrived to find one long house divided into the rental area you see pictured and the rest of the house where the owners live. I'm very careful when I rent summer houses online and read all the reviews, one of which stated that the owners were right next door, but I thought they were just that, next door, not in the same building where we could see and hear them. I had looked at other properties that had similar set-ups, but rejected them because we prefer privacy and the feeling that you are in your own home, even if it's just for awhile. The other listings made it quite clear that other people would be on the property, this house did not.

Secondly, we searched for a house using the filter to look only for air conditioned houses, and this listing came up since it lists A/C as one of its amenities. The price was on the high side for the area so it made sense that it came with A/C. But as we found out when we got there during a heat wave, it doesn't have air conditioning. The owner gave the self-serving explanation that the thick walls and ceiling fans in two rooms are just as good. I disagree and feel that listing air conditioning so you are included in searches for houses with A/C when you don't have it, no matter what your opinion of how cool your house is, is deceptive. Looking at the listing once I returned home, I see there is an unusual feature that if you put your cursor over some, not all, of the listed amenities and right click, it brings up a box that explains what they mean -- for example, if you click on the listed amenity of "tumble dry" it will bring up a box that says "line dry", the exact opposite of the amenity listed. This is a tiny thing I don't care about, I'm happy to dry my clothes on a rack, but I don't understand why you would list a clothes dryer as an amenity when it's exactly what you don't have.

A/C is a much bigger issue, because it can be a big factor in choosing which house to rent. I believe its misleading to have air conditioning listed as an amenity so your house shows up in a search for air conditioned houses in Sarlat if in fact it's not air conditioned. If you right click on air conditioning --- and I've never seen this little hidden feature before and had no idea it existed so certainly didn't do it -- it it says that the house has ceiling fans in two rooms and very thick walls, so is cool. Which is nice information, but doesn't state that there is in fact, no A/C. It's just a justification for listing it misleadingly as air conditioned, Since the house is listed as air conditioned, I would have thought this little piece of information was just giving me some more reassurances that the house is comfortable in the heat.

Another thing that turned out differently than what we expected was the wifi. The listing says free wifi, which it had. But when we checked in the owner said that his wife worked with wifi during the day -- and since it's a shared house, not a private house of your own -- could only one of us use wifi during the day so her bandwidth wasn't affected?

There are other inflated claims in the listing, like saying there is a balcony when they are referring to the stoop outside the front door, but they certainly don't outweigh the house's charm and lovely setting. I had a summer rental property of my own at one time and can appreciate how much thought and work goes into planning, restoring, and maintaining a property for others to enjoy, and the owners have every right to describe it with a loving eye. But I believe it would be so much better if they would revisit the house's amenity listing so it more accurately describes what future travelers will find when they get there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, location, kitchen, and living room. Also the chickens, cat, and dogs.
Liked least: Aforementioned lack of air conditioning and shared house, but also found the outside table difficult for eating meals outside since everything had to be taken up and down a set of large stone stairs, which are charming to look at but inconvenient.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay in our home.

A couple of points I would like to clarify as they are simply not correct.

We do not live in the same house as the one you stayed in or even directly next door. There is a 30 metre period stone barn, a large hedge and another smaller barn between the houses. Before you booked the house you were aware of this.

We do not advertise on Tripadvisor that this house or any of our homes have air conditioning. If you had followed our sensible advise upon your arrival and not opened all the windows and doors on the south side of the house, the rooms would have remained considerably cooler.

Whilst we maintain a distance and respect your privacy, sometimes our paths will cross, like the early morning pool and garden maintenance or when we offer you our freerange eggs.

At no point did you experience any connection problems with your WIFI, other than the fact that you needed help with the initial connection as you did not follow the clear instructions with the code.

You are the first guests in 16 years of offering holiday accommodation on line to accuse us of 'misleading' our guests. Our 90, mostly 5 star, reviews on Tripadvisor would beg to differ.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LabLoverM...
Morar
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Sarlat and surrounding areas”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the house for two weeks in June 2016. The house is ideally located between Sarlat and Beynac, in a quiet location about a mile off the main road. There are lots of castles, chateaux and towns to visit within a short drive of the house. The house itself is clean, comfortable and well equipped and the swimming pool was a welcome relief in the hot weather. The booking process was simple and the owners are on hand to provide advice while you are there, though they are not intrusive. A great base for visiting this part of the Dordogne.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you. We are so glad you liked your stay in our home and the area and very happy that you found the house clean and comfortable with everything that you needed for an enjoyable stay. When booking we try to make everything as easy and simple as possible so that all you need to do is concentrate on packing your bags. :)

We do our best to ensure that everything is done to the best of our abilities and this determination has previously gained us mentions in many International guide books such as Alistair Sawdays, Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, Petit Fute, Guide du Routard....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haberdash...
Stondon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday at La Buguette”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

When you first make the booking you wonder if it's going be as good as the description. This lived up to and beyond our expectations, with so many great features it's hard to know where to start.
The main accommodation - generous sized, good solid furniture, huge kitchen, lovely wooden spiral staircase, two large bedrooms each with quality en-suite shower room - was a delight. Everything we could need was provided (including TV with English channels).
Then there was the self-contained one-bedroom apartment on the ground floor, again a generous size with our separate bedroom, sitting room and kitchen. This provided the perfect retreat for us (grandparents) while the family (two adults and two children) had the large 2-storey upstairs accommodation, accessed via its own front door.
And - a huge plus - it's in the heart of the Dordogne,close to Sarlat, Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Beynac, La Roque Gageac - all amazing places.

Finally, when I asked our granddaughter for her comments, this is what she wrote:............

Wow! What a fantastic place to stay; couldn't have wished for a better host and accomodation. It was a truly unforgetable experience!
There's so much I could say about our holiday but what really made it was knowing we had a place like La Buguette to return to after a busy day of shopping and chateau touring! Hamish and Xanthe were such friendly bubbly people who we found a joy to meet and chat to and the rooms we stayed in were divine (I was particularly fond of the glass chandelier in the sitting room!). Gathering walnuts - and eating them - was great fun.
I would really love to return to the region and stay in that beautiful gite again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of this 16th century stone building
Liked least: We should have visited before the end of October to enjoy the pool.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing