We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
54
102
29
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
102
29
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Staff was friendly, the location is perfect to visit town at a very close walking distance to the center/citadel with shops, restaurants and bars. Parking is a bit of a pain around the hotel, only a limited amount of parkind spots are available at the hotel (for 10euros per day). You'll need a car to get around or to the beach.
As for the room, for the high price we really expected a bit more. The fotos of the rooms look nice, and even if we got the same furniture as on the fotos in ours, it felt like we got a tiny dark room. The mattress was really bad and should've been replaced long ago. The room was facing the front onto a street that is rather noisy all night long (yea the traffic calms down, but occasional motorcyclists seem to like to roar their motor just as they drive up to the corner there) so we didn't get much sleep.
We felt like for what we got, the hotel was really overpriced, we wouldn't have stayed there if we had known we'd get the room we stayed in. Yea, it was high season but we stayed in much nicer places for less.
Anyway, maybe we were just unlucky with the room, might be that others are better.
Can recommend for a short stay in off season when the rooms are more reasonably priced.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carmel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Hotels on Corsica are generally expensive, and I’m not used of paying so much, but this one wasn’t bad, considering I’d payed more for less at other places. Room was modern, had an issue with the Aircon, but the young lady at reception checked it out, and eventually it worked well, only the filters hadn’t been cleaned in a long time. Nice bed, shower etc. USB outlet next to bed. There was free parking about 400-500m down the road. Breakfast was basic for €9, nothing hot etc.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mbruce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We had made a reservation for two rooms for one night and the first time we mistook the date, so the day after the reservation we sent an email changing the reservation to the following day. The hotel sent us an email that we thought it was a confirmation of the change, but apparently they were asking for a new confirmation. The hotel says that the day we first indicated they telephoned us, but we were in the mountain doing the GR20, and the next day when we arrived into the hotel they said that not only we had nor any room for us, but also they had charged us with the full cost of the previous night for not show. So we not only had to find an alternate way to spend the night (after having been trekking for 6 days, so we were really tired) but we had to pay for two rooms we were unable to use.
This is the first time that an hotel does not accomplish a change of date order asking for a confirmation, and at least they should have considered our email as a cancelation email, not charging for the night.
At the end, they did not give us a receipt for the 220€ they charged to our credit card.
They are really Corsarios

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ralf1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludovic s, Directeur général at Hotel Holzer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016
Google Translation

CHANTAGE ET DIFFAMATION

Depuis le mois d’août nous sommes victimes d’une tentative de chantage visant à détruire notre réputation. Plusieurs commentaires ont été posté venant d’un seul et même groupe de 4 personnes qui n’a même pas séjourné dans notre établissement. Depuis le mois d’août nous avons réussi à faire supprimer certains de leur commentaires, grâce au soutien de booking.com qui nous donne entièrement raison.

Pour information également voici les faits :

Le 26-06-16 : réservation de 2 chambres doubles du 18 au 19/07

Le 27-06-16 : confirmation de séjour en bonne et due forme

Le 27-06-16 : la cliente envoi cet email : "Je viens de réaliser que je me suis trompé sur les dates et ne pas être la nuit du 18_19 Juillet, si aucun des 19_20 Juillet. Je pourrais faire le changement sans supplément."

Le 28-06-16 : Sa demande étant formulée dans un français approximatif et sous la forme d'une question, nous avons préféré par expérience lui demander de confirmer son souhait de modification de date. Demande effectuée plus de 3 semaines avant leur arrivée.

Sans réponse leur part nous avons considéré que leur modification n'était pas confirmée. Le 18 juillet après de très nombreuses tentatives d'appels, nous avons passé leur chambre en NO SHOW. Le lendemain nous étions complet et nous ne pouvions donc les accueillir (nous leur avons tout de même trouvé une solution d'hébergement, moins cher à 10min à pied du centre ville).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We were in Corsica for a week and we stayed at Holzer for only one night. This hotel is well located in the old city. We liked it mostly because it was extremely clean and we got two single beds (two friends traveling). The girl at the front desk was a bit precious and not very helpful though.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tricout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludovic s, Directeur général at Hotel Holzer, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016
Google Translation

Mesdames, nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi l'hôtel Holzer. Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau une prochaine fois. Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This Hotel is really very bad. It is very noisy, the bathroom was dirty and the bed was small and uncomfortable. The breakfast was bad and expensive. Better have breakfast in other place. Really a very bad experience that I don't recommend to anybody

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 914,571,718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludovic s, Directeur général at Hotel Holzer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016
Google Translation

Cet avis est sans aucun doute faux. Votre note et votre commentaire ne correspondent en aucun cas à notre hôtel, ni même aux commentaires que nos clients ont l'habitude de nous laisser. Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews