We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny day at Goat Island”
Review of Glass Bottom Boat

Glass Bottom Boat
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Leigh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New Zealand’s first marine reserve. For those wishing to get a closer look, kayaks, wetsuits and snorkel gear are available for hire at the beach. Bookings are essential. Guests may book on the beach, however booking online or by phone is recommended to secure your seat.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunny day at Goat Island”
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The glass bottom boat around Goat Island is amazing and well worth the $28 (adult). The tour guide is very informative and funny. We saw a variety of fish, a stingray and 2 very big jellyfish.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank sville24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    10
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Highlight of our long weekend”
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The 6 kids we took with us (10 yrs - 15 yrs) all rated the Glass Bottom Boat trip as a highlight of our long weekend away to the Matakana area. We really enjoyed the skippers banter which kept it interesting, he was knowledgeable and passionate about the sea life and the reserve.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank 1970SarahLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everyone got seasick!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015

It was our first time to Goat Island and the weather was too chilly for snorkelling so we went on the Glass Bottom Boat instead. The first 20mins or so was pretty boring - we saw some big snapper but hardly any other fish!
Then things got pretty bad... the water was quite rough and the boat was rocking everywhere, and we all felt sick!! The poor little girl sitting in front of us was spewing up in a paper bag. I could hardly sit up and just had my face in my palms, trying not to be sick.
The boat ride was meant to be 45mins but ours was over an hour - I think because we didn't see much marine life at all so they tried to show us more - in most cases we would've been thankful for this but not on this occasion!! the prolonged ride made things so much worse and all I wanted was to get off the boat. We still felt so sick after getting off the boat and had to rest on the beach for a while before driving.
Overall, a very expensive ($56 for 2 people) way to see a few snapper and get seasick. Very disappointing!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank mistyleeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Insist on Marine Reserves in your area”
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Loved it, the boat ride was full of people and the sea life below us on the glass bottom boat was just as full. It was beautiful to see what the ocean should look like before it is pillaged and destroyed for its beauty. We sat right at the back of the boat which I thought might be the wettest and the noisiest but it was the best seat in the house we got the full 360 view of all areas. Would go again and support NZ's first marine reserve. Only downside was that the rest of auckland was there but we cant hold that against them right???

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Goat Island Glass Bottom Boat”
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Great experience. Had been waiting for three weeks because of the bad weather but definitely worths it. The captain is very friendly and informative. My girlfriend and I saw many fish and we really enjoyed. Even the weather turned to be sunny as soon as we got onboard :P

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank SamLiGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Leigh, Auckland Region
 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing