We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi Kai at its Best”
Review of Kiwiana Kai

Kiwiana Kai
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Hampden
Price range: $3 - $25
Description: Hi everyone. Thanks for supporting Kiwiana Kai. Our aim is to offer you an authentic experience with foods from our childhoods like blue cod, whitebait patties and seafood. We also offer vegetarian and vegan options.
Restaurant details
Description: Hi everyone. Thanks for supporting Kiwiana Kai. Our aim is to offer you an authentic experience with foods from our childhoods like blue cod, whitebait patties and seafood. We also offer vegetarian and vegan options.
Reviewed 13 December 2021

Second visit and both times 10/10
Paua Pattie was best ive had ( other than ones i used to make 😏)
Whitebait Pattie my friend had also on point.
VERY quick to cook it as u wait. But you can book ahead if u want.
There is Hamburgers, and fish plus several other choices.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank sandramU9934XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Kerr, Owner at Kiwiana Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2021

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you came back and that you enjoyed our Kiwiana style menu. Merry Christmas and hopefully we will see you in the New Year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2020

Really good fish and chips, burgers and white bait patties....sound Kiwi tucker! All from a small caravan by the side of the road....nice people too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn P, Owner at Kiwiana Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed the experience we aim for - giving people a real taste of New Zealand!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

This is not a just a food truck it is a mobile gourmet restaurant on wheels. Even simple chips were perfect, crusty with a light interior. And the view can't be beat. Don't drive by you will miss a perfect NZ lunch.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dontwait2long
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn P, Owner at Kiwiana Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Wow what an awesome compliment! Thank you so much 😀 Thanks also for being so loving towards our wee dog. We hope you both had a safe trip back to Atlanta. Glenn, Rachel and Razz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

We were feeling a bit peckish around 2.30 pm and saw Kiwiana Kai parked up on a stunning beach spot. We’re SO glad we stopped.
Fabulous food - Blue Cod and Chips x 2 although the whitebait was very tempting. Lightly battered and not greasy. Great portions and value for money
Lovely friendly owners and a very clean, tidy, slick operation
Rubbish tin provided - a very big tick from us - thank you
Cold drinks, tea and coffee also on the menu
Keep an eye out for Kiwiana Kai FoodTruck - A must stop as your enjoy good food, a rest from travelling and the gorgeous West Coast

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn P, Owner at Kiwiana Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thanks for leaving such a cool review!! We are pleased you guys stopped by and gave us a go. Hope to see you both again when you are back in Barrytown :) Cheers, Glenn and Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

This is my absolute favorite food truck on the west coast. Revenge and Gleen conjure up delicious food! The burgers are super delicious and the whitebait is a delicacy. Every time I enjoy the nice chat and the wonderful view to the sea. A pleasure!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank B7904ANjaninem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn P, Owner at Kiwiana Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

You are our favourite too and we will miss your cheery smile around here!! Thanks for being such an awesome, happy customer and we hope you have an adventurous journey on your way around this beautiful country. Rach and Glenn x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiwiana Kai also viewed

Hampden, Otago Region
 
Hampden, Otago Region

Been to Kiwiana Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.