We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
223
115
25
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
115
25
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station shuttle service bay of naples recommend this hotel special set menu all mod cons a free shuttle bus main sorrento glass door hotel is lovely lounge chairs small pool hotel bus amazing views room was spotless boutique hotel sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary end of june for a week.

The hotel is lovely - beautiful views and the staff were so helpful and welcoming.
Very clean hotel too.
Particularly want to thank Dominico - so helpful and took us to and from places in the shuttle service. He was our favourite
The train station and bus stations are close by but you need dominico to take you to the stations but Sorrento is very close on train and also Pompeii. All very easy once you’ve worked it out.
Also Sabrina on the reception was also very lovely and helpful.

The pool area is also great - very relaxing and again wonderful views of Vesuvius and the sea.
Very nice breakfast included - all very fresh,
and we really enjoyed our lunches and evening meal here.
Can’t fault anything at all.

A wonderful holiday ♥️

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank allybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Pros: Outstanding hospitality by a small friendly staff. Amazing views. Children are welcome. Very few rooms, so it feels like you're staying in the lavish countryside house of an expensive friend. It's outside of the hustle of Sorrento, so no tourist traps. The restaurant/food is outstanding. There's really no reason to leave.

Cons: It's outside of Sorrento (but that's not really a bad thing) and you'll need a car or taxi to get to this hotel from Sorrento. It's tricky to find. You better have a very tiny car if you're traveling here or anywhere in the Amalfi Coast area for that matter...Struggling to find some cons.

My husband and I stayed here with our 9 year old son. This was the last leg of our 15 days in Italy. Hands down - this was one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

The Hotel Torre Barbara is a boutique hotel in all the right ways. As you walk in, you're greeted by a small, but comfortable lobby with a beautiful revolving glass door which leads out to the garden and patio area. We were offered drinks and coffee upon our arrival. After white knuckling our way across the Amalfi Coast by car from Salerno, drinks were greeted with great appreciation.

The story goes, this hotel was renovated sometime back, but was part of a working farm estate at one time. There's a house with chickens and a small vineyard above the hotel and it looks as though maybe it was part of the overall property at one point. The hotel is older, but has been renovated to feel modern on the inside, yet part of the hillside.

The rooms had a modern/rustic feel. Like a lot of rooms in Europe - they're not huge, but it's enough space. We dropped our bags in our room, freshened up and walked out on to our private patio area to check out the stunning views of the Bay of Napoli and enjoy our drinks. Steps away from our patio was the main community patio where other guests would lounge around with a book in hand, and talk with other guests over a glass of wine.

Our first evening, we were served dinner on the same patio with a few other hotel guests. It was quiet and peaceful which was a nice change of pace from the tourist lined streets of Sorento and the Amalfi Coast. The food was perfect - local and light with lots to chose from - and the view.

There's a small pool on the property that's just big enough for a couple of families to splash around in and a few lounge chairs near the pool. We met another couple traveling from England and had a great chat about politics as we watched our kids play together. It feels to me like this is the sort of Inn that invites its guests to get to know one another. It just felt like a relaxing party most of the time. I'm normally a 'get up and see all the things' sort of traveler, but here we didn't want to leave the hotel. We went down to Sorrento for half of the day, but really - we could have stayed at the hotel and hung out with a book and talked with the other guests all day. The Hotel Torre Barbara was perfect! We're going back and recommending it to anyone who goes to Italy. Stay here!

Tip: We found a last minute deal on Expedia just a few days before leaving on our trip. Give them a try!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Jennessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Misleading photographs of the quality of the hotel. Although we knew we'd chosen a standard room (aptly number 101) we weren't aware this was in the dark basement area. Although the staff did their best to change our room upon request, we certainly didn't feel the €450 for 3 nights reflected the hotel, nor does the 4 star rating.

The breakfast was plain and felt like it came from packets; it was enough to deter us from having dinner.

Although the view over the bay of Naples is amazing, beware that there is a main road that runs from Naples to Sorrento and is busy day and night, so there is constant noise as a result.

We're unsure how the hotel can market a "refreshing pool". The area was in huge need of a makeover and we didn't see a single person use it throughout our stay. There were broken sunbeds and the pool can only be described as a paddling pool.

This was the last stop on our weeklong roadtrip through Italy, and we were looking forward to exploring both Naples and the Amalfi coast. We were so grateful for the car as although it is probably needed to get around the region anyway, there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The cheapest room will most likely be in the basement which has little light.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Stunning views, great location for visiting all key local attractions of Sorrento area. Unique selling points of hotel should be the super friendly and helpful staff, along with the free shuttle service which goes way beyond a basic service. The driver was so flexible and this service was invaluable. Local buses and trains were easy to use. The hotel restaurant was outstanding....amazing food, great service whilst sitting on terrace with stunning view of Mount Vesuvius. We had the pool to ourselves when we used it, sun beds and towels provided. Another review mentioned the road noise, but we can honestly say that this didn't bother us. We would recommend Torre Barbara to others without hesitation!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Stayed 5 nights in Torre Barbara and loved it all. The staff are fantastic, the view is great, the pool and terrace are perfect for relaxing. Free breakfast was very good, courtesy bus to the train station/beach is excellent. Room was spotless and all mod cons were 100%, Wifi etc working great. Can't fault this place at all really.
The minor downside is that there is nothing nearby (shops) to buy goods. And no footpath to Vico means relying on public transport, personal transport or the courtesy bus. That can be easily fixed with a bit of planning ahead. A great hotel to stay for the entire Sorrento/Naples area!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews