We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
1,137
283
59
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
283
59
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mariano sessa amalfi coast the hotel manager room balcony meta train station sorrento area swimming pool beautiful view recommend this hotel welcome drink excellent hotel short drive salami bit dated overlooking the sea yogurt israel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Last minute booking from me. Booked this place because it was the best price I could get last minute, not expecting much. Was very pleasantly surprised. Room is small and minimalist. Also I see people complaining the tv is too small. Honestly, if you come to sorrento to spend time in your room maybe you’ve come to the wrong place. Morning views as you wake up are spectacular. Good pool. Good location. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Eder P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamare, Proprietario at Hotel Mega Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente ,
La ringrazio del giudizio positivo espresso a favore della mia struttura , per me è molto importante conoscere il parere degli ospiti perché aiuta a crescere e migliorare al fine di poter soddisfare sempre di più ogni vostra esigenza e rendere il soggiorno all Hotel MegaMare un esperienza indimenticabile.
Il Direttore
Mariano Sessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Just back from 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Despite being outside the public transport area, the staff and the views totally make up for this. Mariano, the Owner, is very welcoming and efficient. He offered us welcome drinks and we left with parting gifts from him. He organised car pick up, restaurant reservations, ice for my swollen ankle! All the rest of the staff are similarly efficient and helpful. The room we had was quite large with a Queen and a Double bed and a little balcony with spectacular views. I would have no hesitation returning to this welcoming place.

Room Tip: All rooms, seem to have spectacular views and the area is very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sof08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamare, Direttore at Hotel Mega Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente ,
La ringrazio del giudizio positivo espresso a favore della mia struttura , per me è molto importante conoscere il parere degli ospiti perché aiuta a crescere e migliorare al fine di poter soddisfare sempre di più ogni vostra esigenza e rendere il soggiorno all Hotel MegaMare un esperienza indimenticabile.
Il Direttore
Mariano Sessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This was our second time staying at Hotel Mega Mare and we will be back! The view is spectacular, the best in Sorrento! Mariano the hotel owner is so accommodating and makes you feel so welcome. The staff is so friendly and wil,l do anything for you. Mariano helps with all your needs and was so good at getting drivers for us to go to dinner and to take us the the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamare, Direttore at Hotel Mega Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente ,
La ringrazio del giudizio positivo espresso a favore della mia struttura , per me è molto importante conoscere il parere degli ospiti perché aiuta a crescere e migliorare al fine di poter soddisfare sempre di più ogni vostra esigenza e rendere il soggiorno all Hotel MegaMare un esperienza indimenticabile.
Il Direttore
Mariano Sessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Mega Mare Sorrento - The Devil is in the small details
We arrived at the hotel on the recommendation of friends. We arrived at 6 pm. The room was not ready yet. The hotel owner was very welcoming, and the hotel is in a stunning location and view, 5 Km from Sorrento and about half an hour drive because of the narrow road and traffic jams.
The hotel has 13 rooms. Our room was clean and of reasonable size, a minimalist room with antique furniture, floor of colored tiles, pale walls with no pictures. The terrace with a spectacular view, but due to vegetation there are many mosquitoes. The bath room is clean. The shower is narrow 80 cm with spitting and peeling in the walls (see pictures).
Since there are no carpets, the acoustics are not good, and you can hear the steps and the water flowing from the upper floors.
At TRIP ADVISOR and Booking it is written that there is free internet, but the rooms do not have at all, the network also does not pick up on the balcony, and the cell phone is disconnected frequently. I went back to the lobby, I was stung by many mosquitoes, I went back to see television, the TV was the size of a computer screen, with dubbed programs, no international channels like CNN, nature channels or sports channels. In the lobby, where there is free WI FI, there is no air conditioning and there are many mosquitoes.
The dining room sits on a beautiful view. The windows are open during breakfast, and there is a damp breeze, no air conditioning, the workers dripping with sweat, and mosquitoes coming in from the garden. The buffet is minimalistic and apart from a hard egg, there is nothing cooked. You get satiation mostly from carbohydrates. "Cordiale" the waiter is a charming, kind man, radiating a lot of integrity and warmth, and with his simple English he gave us a lot of tips.
We were not told in the chick in that the air conditioning is turned off in the rooms after 10 o'clock. I knew that by reading the negative reviews in trip advisor. But since the previous reviewers wrote that the manager became unsympathetic when making a comment, as I commented on the Internet, I declined to ask.
The team radiated a great emotional stress. We understood the reason when my wife saw him scolding two employees in her presence.
On the second day I read the notes about the place, and unfortunately everything I saw matched what they wrote a year before and nothing changed. The manager writes the same answer with small variations, and responds mainly to positive comments (see his responding in trip advisor).
The pool is open from 11 am until 19:00. The reason is probably because the dining room closes at 10 and the waiter opens the pool only at 11 and moves to the bar.
In summary, the hotel is a simple, non-pampering B & B with a feeling of something wrong in the air. So if you decide to go, take a lot of mosquito repellent, Install a large internet package for the cellular, and do not express any criticism about the hotel. Mr. Mariano The border between thrifty and stinginess is very thin, and please be nice to your employees. Good luck.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f_basis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamare, Direttore at Hotel Mega Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

I am very regretted of his negative review, even more so because at his check-out as many times during his stay he was asked by me and the staff if he was satisfied with the structure and she falsely always responded positively, not exposing the problems that he has exposed now and that maybe they could have been resolved during his stay avoiding making her experience a bad experience in my structure. For the shower that showed in the picture, unfortunately, after an intense season of work it is normal to show signs of wear; unfortunately the hotel is always full and as a result we never have the time for such extraordinary maintenance that requires several hours of work. Regarding the presence of insects in structure, she has answered herself; unfortunately being immersed in nature is a completely normal thing and moreover I do not think it is reasonable to use pesticides that alter the quality of the air and are also harmful for you guests and for who lives in the structure; for some insect that is rarely present in the environments.
As for my ways with employees I do not remember in particular the episode you attended, but in any case manage a structure is not easy and those in the industry can very well understand that unfortunately you do not always agree with the staff and obvious frictions can arise for service quests.
I hope that in his new stay at our facility will be more satisfied with our work; but above all he hoped that he will expose his possible problems to the staff so that he can solve them promptly.
Greetings
Mariano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

As you might know, tourist area is always busy and noisy however, this place is quite and more relaxing. Spectacular view, stars and moonlight.. Do you need more explanations?
+ staffs are very professional and kind.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leekwanghae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamare, Direttore at Hotel Mega Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente ,
La ringrazio del giudizio positivo espresso a favore della mia struttura , per me è molto importante conoscere il parere degli ospiti perché aiuta a crescere e migliorare al fine di poter soddisfare sempre di più ogni vostra esigenza e rendere il soggiorno all Hotel MegaMare un esperienza indimenticabile.
Il Direttore
Mariano Sessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews