We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay in the heart of Todi”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Todi, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Arthur A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous stay in the heart of Todi”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

George’s lovely, rustic home was a centerpoint in our stay in Todi. We convened outdoors for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a cheerful yard with a stunning view of the countryside. The weather was hot and humid, but the yard offered shade and quiet solace. Fireflies were a delight after dark.

The house is well maintained with lots of thoughtful provisions: extra towels, clothes washer, beautiful and comfy bed linens, interesting books, a record player with records and a very well stocked kitchen. George left a bottle of wine for our arrival.

Our group of 5 found the beds comfortable and the warm water ample (too warm for hot showers). The 4 story house consisted of kitchen on bottom floor, then living room, bedrooms and baths and finally the top floor, the “mansard”. We used the mansard for morning yoga.

Communication with George was excellent. His responses were timely and informative. His helper, Lucca, who met us at the bottom of the hill and lead us to the House was cheerful and helpful ( carrying heavy bags into house!!). Be warned, driving in Todi and Umbrian cities is not for the faint of heart. Be sure your cars mirrors retract or they will be broken off in the skinny streets!

Todi is a charming, touristed hill town. George’s green folder directed us to amazing restaurants, sites and shopping. We arranged a cooking class at the house based on george’s recommendations. We all had a memorable evening even if majority of the class was demonstration.

Overall our trip was fantastic. I highly recommend this rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thank you Art for your very kind words! So happy you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful old home in the heart of Todi”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Todi is the perfect town to explore Umbria. The town itself is very pleasant and has plenty going on. The house was very comfortable for five. We were able to use the kitchen for breakfasts and also a couple of dinners. Internet access was important to us and it was fine. The patio off of the kitchen is gorgeous and provides a view over a soccer field and the fields beyond.

The owner, George, was always extremely helpful. He let us know about goings-on in the town as well as recommended restaurants nearby.

If you are traveling to Todi or to Umbria I highly recommend this home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you kindly Carol. It was a pleasure having you and your friends
and knowing how much you appreciated Umbria and our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
“Absolutely enchanting”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in July 2016

My family (4 adults with the occasional add on) spent a glorious 3 weeks at George's home in Todi. The house was all we hoped it would be: nestled in a beautiful stone alleyway on the edge of town with a breathtaking view over the valley. The kitchen was well stocked and a pleasure to use: we prepared some lovely meals - even a delicious roast lamb with herbs we had gathered on walks in the countryside. A lunch made up around the amazing Porchetta bought from a van that comes into the square on Saturdays is something we will never forget nor the moonlit nights in the garden shared with fireflies and even a hedgehog! George is a wonderful host who made some excellent recommendations particularly to hire a car from Stefano, (who also drove us to Rome at the end of our stay). Todi is wonderfully located with many of Umbria's most beautiful towns and walks within an easy drive. The most spectacular walk was in Castelluccio Di Norcia where the wildflowers are just extraordinary - and the lentils amazing. With all the walks and the steps in Todi we left in much better shape than we arrived but never once dreamt of holding back on the wonderful Umbrian food and wine - effortless! It was so very hard to leave - thank you George!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thanks for your kind words. I'm so happy you appreciated all of what
this marvellous region has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H
Steamboat Springs CO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in May 2015

Dear George:

We are feeling very nostalgic about our 4-week stay in your lovely home in Todi. It was remarkable to live in a 700-year old house in a medieval hill town, which you have so tastefully restored. Your former home does not feel like a rental house at all. You did indeed put your heart and soul into it.

Anne just loved having breakfast in the garden, watching the swifts fly, and picking the cherries. The figs will be ripe in a week. Lucky for the next people.

Thanks so much for calling us from time to time. It was very comforting and helpful to have you so readily available, and to have Isabella to clean for us.

Todi is a wonderful place to spend a protracted period of time. I commend the city administration for keeping the city spotlessly clean. It made it so pleasant to walk up the stairs by the Etruscan wall to the piazza for an evening prosecco. A wonderful, peaceful place to linger and admire one of the great public squares in Italy.

Todi is also an excellent location from which to visit all of Umbria. We returned to Orvieto, Perugia and Assissi so many times that we did not get to many places we wanted to visit. I suppose we could have done so, but Todi is too pleasant a place to spend the day, and walks in the neighboring countryside are so pleasant, that staying home often won out over exploring new places.

Two things we hadn’t anticipated. First, Todi’s Olympic-sized swimming pool, which is kept immaculately clean. A great place on a hot day. Second, the nightly soccer games on the field below your house with 4 on 4 matches between local teams. Our grandchildren, who are soccer players, were mightily impressed!

We are so glad that we spent a weekend in your apartment in Florence and had a chance to meet you.

Warm regards,

Jon and Anne Halverson

Submitted: Jul 2, 2012 Stayed: May 2012 Source: HomeAway

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thanks so much dear Jon and Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JunebugTe...
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming historical home in medieval Todi”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in June 2015

This home is indeed charming in every way. This historical home has been carefully renovated and still has retained its ancient charm. It has four floors -- the kitchen (with a door to a gorgeous outdoor terrace) is the bottom floor and has a half bath, the living area (with a door out to the street) is the second level, the third floor has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, and the fourth floor has an attic bedroom. You will climb stairs in this house and in Todi, but we found, after one day here, that it was not a problem for us.

Todi itself is lovely small medieval town (perhaps about 10,000 citizens), with several restaurants, stores, a large grocery, churches, and a great central piazza. Our favorite restaurant, which we twice visited, was Ristorante La Mangiatoia (great food and kind owners and wait staff).

We were so pleased with George, the owner. Though he lives in Florence, he contacted us frequently and was genuinely warm and caring and available whenever we had a question. The owner recommended Stefano, a Todi area resident, who picked us up from the Rome airport, drove us to the grocery store, rented us cars,and was an invaluable resource. Todi is close to many lovely Umbrian towns--Assisi, Siena, Montefalco, Spoleto, Orvieto, Deruta, to name a few. We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend this medieval home and town. You were right, George -- one week was not enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Well then, we expect you back again soon! We just discovered an extraordinary restaurant out in a tiny town only 7 km from Todi. The home made tagliatelle with truffle sauce were the best we have ever eaten.
Thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing