We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa in great setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Ulignano

Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
The apartment from the garden. Villa Ulignano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano
The double room
The twin room
Ensuite, self contained double room with sofa, fridge & tea/coffee making facilities
The lounge area with TV and DVD player.
The kitchen space.
The dining area.
The shower room.
The all-new adjustable climbing wall
Fun in the pool.
Your view from the balconies
Path leading to Chiesa, Santa Maria del Lago
Sulmona's famous aqueduct
Picnic area by the spring fed San Domenico Lake
Snowshoeing in the local valley
Out on a cycle ride by the river near Bussi
Sulmona Giostra is held in the main piazza
One of the many water hydrants still used for crop irrigation
Pescara Beach
One of the beach areas at Lake Scanno
Lake Scanno as seen from the mountains above
Local pool in Sulmona (1 outdoor pool & 2 indoor pools)
The twice weekly market in Sulmona's main square
A snowshoe walk in the mountains above Lake Scanno
The immaculate streets of Pescocostanzo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nocdublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in great setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My daughter (16) stayed with Michelle ,Dougie,Josh and Make for 10 days this summer.The apartment was ideal- well equipped and comfortable. They were extremely welcoming and helpful.We had a teffific time as the locality has so much to offer.We are familiar with Sulmona which has jousting,mediaeval parades and opera and outdoor jazz during the summer in addition to great restaurants and bars.Climbing,walking and cycling in the mountains are truly wonderful. I hired an electric bike which was ideal for visiting mountain villages with a lot less effort.
The villa is beautifully situated in the valley and with the addition of a good sized above-ground pool which Dougie erected while we were there,it makes an unbeatable location for a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and welcome
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about both the apartment & the local area. We look forward to seeing you in Abruzzo next year, maybe for some walking in the hills next time. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzTimes2...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have been travelling across the globe for several years renting self-catering accommodation. Occasionally we find the perfect combination of outstanding hosts and an outstanding property. Michelle and Dougie and their Villa Ulignano is a prime example.

Within minutes of our arrival, we were enjoying the type of warmth and hospitality that we receive from old friends. Nothing was ever a trouble and they went out of their way to assist us in pursuing our interests and spending time above and beyond what we would normally expect. Never intrusive but always available and very generous.

For those who like rural tranquility as well as all of the benefits of a medium size town (conveniences and cultural life) within five minutes drive, Villa Ulignano ticks all of the boxes. The Villa is also beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. An added bonus is access to fresh produce from the garden ... not to mention home-made vino.

We would recommend this accommodation and these hosts for couples, singles and families. For those who enjoy trekking in the mountains (as we do), Michelle and Dougie, and their circle of friends, are extremely knowledgable of the local area; and for those who prefer personalised guided tours, these can be readily arranged.

This accommodation in the heart of the Abruzzo region is truly a gem of a find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you both here to stay. No doubt we'll be able to share a few more glasses of wine together during some of your future visits to Abruzzo. Kind regards from Dougie, Michelle & the boys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property's views and surroundings
Liked least: Having to go home...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about us, our apartment & the local area. It was great to have you as guests & your children were great company for Jake & Josh. Hopefully we'll see you all again one day. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon N
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week at Villa Ulignano”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful week at Villa Ulignano with Dougie, Michelle and their beautiful boys. They were all very welcoming, kind, generous and incredibly helpful, providing advice on where to go and what to do. The apartment is actually bigger than what we anticipated and fitted our family of five comfortably. Michelle and Dougie have gone to great efforts to setup the apartment with toys and books for the kids, towels and even a picnic basket. The immediate surrounds were very beautiful and peaceful, the kids enjoyed playing on the trampoline and swing and hanging out with the Dougie and Michelle's boys. The Villa is a short drive into town and in the region you can do as little or as much as you like. We were sad to leave Sulmona, and the Reid Family and hope one day to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about us, Villa Ulignano & the local area. It was great to have you guys as guests & your 3 children were great company for our boys. Hopefully we'll see you guys 'down under' one day. Enjoy the rest of the road trip...the Reids.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DM66
Co. Down
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Grazie Mille Villa Ulignano”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Villa Ulignano on a recommendation from a friend who had stayed here previously and our expectations were high as a result; we were not disappointed.
The accommodation is as described and was easily located thanks to the detailed directions we received from the owners, Dougie and Michelle.
The property is in a very rural location (which is definitely our preference) requiring a rental car however the nearest town, Sulmona is only a couple of miles away where there are several supermarkets and plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars et cetera.
Dougie and Michelle (and their two boys) were perfect hosts, always on hand to offer advice regarding places to see and things to do. They have integrated into the local community which meant that we got to experience what the area is really like via their connections.
We would recommend a visit to Scanno and the nearby Lago di Scanno; we took a picnic and enjoyed a few hours just relaxing by the lakeside (we parked in a cark park at the southern end of the lake which was free).
We also went to Caraminico Terme via Cansano and Campo di Giove which is a pleasant drive. In Caraminico you can get free access to a nature reserve via an office in town and follow various trails from 1 hour duration upwards.
Other places that we visited and would recommend were Pacentro, and the village of Bugnara which close to Villa Ulignano. A restaurant beside a fishing lake on the way into the village is worth checking out.
We went to Al Quadrivio restaurant in Sulmona and would recommend it.
This is a great area if you like walking in the mountains, cycling and is also close to ski resort (25 minutes). Again Dougie/Michelle were on hand to advise and both accompanied us on walks around the area and in the mountains.
Overall we had a lovely holiday at Villa Ulignano and would not hesitate to go back or recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic welcome from the owners and their friendship/assistance throughout our stay
Liked least: What's not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, towards us, our accommodation & the area in general, we're glad that you enjoyed everything about your holiday. It would be great to have you return again one year for more running, cycling and mountain walking. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle & the boys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing