We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful rural break and a warm welcome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa la Rocca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Isabella...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful rural break and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful week at Casa La Rocca. The apartment is in a blissfully quiet and beautiful rural setting between the mountains just outside of Sulmona. It was the perfect place to bring our 15 month old toddler, who had a wonderful time pottering around in the garden and getting to know the two friendly dogs.

Stuart and Hilary were immensely kind and thoughtful in helping make us and our toddler feel at home, lending us toys and a paddling pool and giving us plenty of homegrown figs, vegetables and wine. Their thoughtfulness made the trip particularly lovely for us.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area. Sulmona is a lovely little town with a market twice a week and the apartment is an hour's drive from the beach and from the medieval town of Santa Stephano di Sessanio.

We would recommend this holiday to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being made to feel so welcome.
Liked least: Having to go back home to cold and rainy England.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwinnit
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for the first week of a 3-week stay in Italy.

With a busy life at home, this was the perfect place to unwind, relax and just 'be'. Sitting in the garden with a drink and a book and uninterrupted views of nearby mountains is an experience we will always remember.

We loved Sulmona and Pettorano Sul Gizio - both 10 minutes drive away and we took an historic train ride from Sulmona into the mountains - recommended.

While this week was intentionally restful and laid-back, we realise there is much to see and discover in this stunning part of Italy. If we went back (and we would like to), we would probably do more walking and as there is just so much to see and experience in Abbruzzo. It is shocking that this area seems relatively unknown, but the advantages are cheaper prices and a more 'real' experience of Italy

Stuart and Hilary were the perfect hosts with a lot of local knowledge. Thank you both for a wonderful week.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location, amazing views, town and coffee shops not far away.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay for all of us.”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a 9 day stay at Casa la Rocca. After a hectic 3 days in Rome the remote location of the house and apartment was a perfect contrast. We really enjoyed our stay there, Hil and Stuart were lovely hosts providing us with wine, courgettes and figs from their garden. We were also given great advice on walks including one where our teenage boys could gorge walk and swim in the river. Other days were spent relaxing on the hammock, roof terrace and sun loungers. All in all a wonderful family holiday for all of us.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJandJR
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Casa La Rocca is situated south of Sulmona in a huge valley with great views of the mountains on all sides. Sulmona is near, providing a useful centre to explore on rest days and has a good selection of supermarkets. The apartment is well equipped and Stuart and Hil are lovely hosts – they very much leave you to your holiday, but are always there if needed. Stuart manages his own vineyard at Casa La Rocca and produces his own house wine which is truly delicious.

This is our fifth visit to Abruzzo, but the first time we have stayed in the area. We came here to explore the more southerly regional and national parks – there are many walks available locally and further afield. We were blessed with good weather and managed to walk on five of the six days - Stuart’s knowledge of the area is truly impressive and he is more than happy to share his experience and recommendations. Stuart was kind enough to drop us at Rivisindoli to enable us to complete the ridge traverse back to Casa La Rocca covering 25kms of paths which was a truly memorable highlight for us.

We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay here with Stuart and Hil; we managed to immerse ourselves in the mountains and genuinely relaxed. Our time here was all too short and we would definitely return when next in the area.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts - Stuart and Hil
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonNeil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stuart and Hilary were perfect hosts. They were extremely helpful when we had to change our flight book in offering us the use of their laptop and printer. The location was within easy reach of Sulmona, a few minutes by car and provided convenient access for our golf on the coast at Pescara and for numerous hill walking trails. A short but immensely enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.