We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A palace set in a piece of paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa in Sicily

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
P306
scotland
2 reviews
“A palace set in a piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in Sicily the second half of May 2015, with my mum. Villa Gelso far exceeded our expectations based on the pictures. When we arrived, the house was not only spotlessly clean and tidy but much larger than we had imagined.

The rooms are spacious and plenty, large living room, spacious kitchen, two bedrooms, downstairs large shower room with toilet and another toilet upstairs. But the outside space was even better, with so many different places to sit, with or without cover, with a barbeque area, and a private swimming pool. There was also an upstairs large terraced balcony which was handy for hanging out towels and swimwear. Although there are neighbours the house and gardens are a very private area, a lovely retreat.

Signor Burrafato is a very warm and welcoming host and had arranged some lovely local food for us (some great cheeses!) when we arrived around 8pm on a saturday night - the most fantastic banquet after a long day of travelling!

The town of Ragusa is a 10 min drive away, with a supermarket and shopping centre on the way there. You need to have a car to be staying here, but I guess you'd need that nearly anywhere in Sicily if you want to go places. We went as far north as Piazza Armerina and as far east as Siracusa, both at a 1h15-1h30 drive.

If you're visiting Sicily I very heartily recommend staying in this absolutely stunning villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house & garden
Liked least: poor reception for mobile phone
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luuk d
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in Sicily”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We (4) stayed for one week in october 2014 (11 -18) in the villa. We had a very warm welcome by the owner, mr. Elio. It was already late in the evening, so mr. Elio had brought in a lot of food for no extra charge! Everything was there, like towels and kitichen equipment and BBQ. And of course a clean swimming pool. It's a very quiet place with a beatiful surrounding, about 3 km from a big city (Ragusa) an d 10 -15 km to nice beaches. There are some dogs around like everywhere in Sicily. Happily they were quiet in night time. We had a lovely time overthere with lovely wether(each day sun and 30 degree)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden
Liked least: entrance
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptionally spacious and relaxing accomodation.”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Everything we expected and more.Everything of good quality and a well appreciated complimentary welcome selection of local foods and wine on our arrival. We enjoyed the villa itself and its surroundings - incuding marvellous sunsets over the coast below. Only negative note was neighbourhood dogs barking in the night.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu26Engl...
England
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great villa in a great location, with the perfect hosts!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I recently rented this villa and have just returned from my holiday in Sicily. We wanted a villa that had a pool, was in a good location and was a good price and all three of our main requirements were fulfilled.

When we arrived, Elio and Giovanna met us and prepared a wonderful taste of the local food and wine, which we thoroughly enjoyed. They also showed us around the villa and made recommendations on places to visit. During our stay Elio was contactable to recommend good beaches and also to support us with an issue we had with our hire car.

There were 5 adults and the villa was a perfect size, as well as decorated in a wonderful style. The neighbours were friendly and the dogs only barked when a car was pulling into the drive, they did not disturb our sleep one bit. The garden is perfect, with a good size pool and many areas to sit and relax, both in the sun and the shade.

Whilst the area is visited by tourists, this is not at all a touristy area, meaning that prices are good and the people are friendly. The villa is close to Ragusa and also the beaches on the Ragusan coast.

I would recommend this villa to anyone who wants to explore this part of Sicily, as for me the beaches and beach towns are the best on the island, and both Elio and Giovanna are the perfect hosts, being helpful, but not intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect for the beach and the town.
Liked least: It is a little out of the way in terms of going out for a coffee, but I knew that before I booked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect place for a couple or a family with kids”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A perfect place for a relaxed vacation!
A great house with all facilities in fine condition. We enjoyed so much the very nice patio and the private pool. The grounds even included a lemon tree with ripe lemons for an afternoon Campari.
The hosts Elio and Giovanna are very helpful and keep everything in great condition. We stayed for two weeks and at our arrival they had a complete meal with local specialities and wine set up for us. There are many interesting places and towns to visit in the vicinity and the very nice Marina di Ragusa offers both fine beaches and a fine promenade with great restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and clean place with privacy and great patio/pool area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing