We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views and peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tommaso

View from terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from terrace
View from terrace View from path leading to the studio apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from terrace
View from terrace
View from path leading to the studio apartment
terrace
Studio flat
steps to the flat
Praia Beach
Walk from Praiano to Vettica - panorama Positano
Positano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dale B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views and peaceful location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week here in June. Of all the places we've travelled to, the view from Casa San Tomasso is hard to beat! Fantastic terrace, perfect for eating out on! Once you get used to the steps up from the apartment to the street (about 70 of them), it's a short walk down to the supermarket tutto per tutti which although being small has everything you need. For such a small resort there's no shortage of restaurants either. It's a good central location to travel around the Amalfi coast being sandwiched between Positano and Amalfi. We hired a car as we travelled down from Rome but we left it parked up for the week as the coastal road is scary to say the least! The buses run frequently and are cheap to use. The apartment is the perfect place to relax and totally switch off. The owners Pasquale and Giovanna were the perfect hosts, very helpful and hospitable. Pasquale was over at the same time and made us feel so welcome and comfortable, even cooking for us one of the evenings! If we return to this part of Italy again (which we'd love to) we would definitely like to stay here again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The steps to the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb54833
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“UNSPOILT LOCATION WITH STUNNING SEA VIEWS”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa San Tommaso in April 2013 and had a brilliant holiday. Praiano is the perfect spot on The Amalfi Coast if you're seeking a quiet and unspoilt location and want to avoid the more touristy resorts. The studio is just as described and very well equipped. Definitely worth a mention is the ample amount of wardrobe/ drawer space, quite unusual in a holiday rental. The main feature of the property is the huge terrace with fantastic views that one could never tire of. We spent many days relaxing on the sun loungers, reading, soaking up the sun and enjoying the amazing vista. Other days we visited Pompeii, a must, and Amalfi and Positano. We travelled by Sita buses which we found to be very reliable and far more relaxing than hiring a car and negotiating all those treacherous bends! There are plenty of restaurants in the village but the take away pizza, up the hill from the shop, was our favourite. It was very good value, the food was excellent and you could also eat in or sit at the tables outside. Giovanna's sister lives downstairs and manages the property. We found her to be very friendly and helpful even though she doesn't speak English. We had a wonderful time here. I do hope Praiano retains its charming local atmosphere and stays unspoilt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge terrace with incredible views
Liked least: The steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGfromCHS
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Low-Key Amalfi Getaway”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this charming studio with georgious views overlooking the northern side of Praiano and the expansive blue Mediterranean! My wife and I live in a NYC walk-up, so we were used to the all the stairs - which actually is a positive considering the heeps of pasta, gelato and wine we consumed at the nearby restaurants. So many wonderful places to see in the area and very close by to neighboring Amalfi towns. I highly recomend this place for a couple looking for a romantic getaway that does not require too much space or over-the-top luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEdwards2...
UK
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for one week in July and It really was a great find. The apartment is exactly as you see in the pictures and has everything you need to make for a comfortable stay. We spent most of our time on the incredible terrace with a view that takes your breath away every morning you wake up and go out there to have your breakfast! Watching the boats go by and relaxing in the sun with a glass of wine and a good book was our favourite thing to do. Hardly went out for dinner as it was so nice to just cook with the beautifully fresh produce from the little shop nearby and enjoy the view from your own terrace. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Brilliant place, well worth a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: No iron
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing