We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning villa which made our holiday very...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Cocles

Overlooking Fornillo Beach from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overlooking Fornillo Beach from the deck
View from the garden terrace Sofa-television area in the large living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Overlooking Fornillo Beach from the deck
View from the garden terrace
Sofa-television area in the large living room
Welcome to Villa Cocles
Dining room
Looking the second bedroom thrue the old marbled three-light window from the livingroom
Main bedroom facing the terrace
The arabesque courtain from the main bedroom looking the fire place
Red bathromm
Relax on the hammock in the garden terrace
Let's have a true Italian meal
Kitchen from the terrace
Kitchen windows view
Mediterranean cuisine ingredients
Panorama from the terrace
Fruit and fresh veggies from Positano market
Let's prepare something together in Villa Cocles kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
AMcF_41
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning villa which made our holiday very special.”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a week in the Villa Cocles at the end of September. The villa has the wow factor and made our stay in Positano quite special. Marina , the owner, is very welcoming and quite a character and we enjoyed her company very much. She cooked a meal for us on the night we arrived and it was fantastic. Marina is a mine of information and can recommend restaurants and taxi services. We went on a few outings but also enjoyed being in Positano town and relaxing on the villa terrace and taking in the view. We enjoyed the fact that the villa is quite high up in the town and we were away from the more touristy parts of Positano. We walked the steps but also used the local bus service a couple of times and the bus stop is just at the end of the road. The villa was handy for a few local shops but we especially enjoyed the Bar Internationale at the end of the road...sometimes for breakfast , or lunch or just drinks. Holidaying here in September was warmer than we expected 25-30 degrees but very pleasant, though we were very appreciative of the air conditioning in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was stunning and the terrace an amazing place to relax.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
I am so happy you enjoyed the Villa position as I do in my daily life: all my life is centered here around this beautiful shops and their owners.
Thank you so much for coming and being so woderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiCool
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Heaven in Italy!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family traveled to Positano in August for a much needed vacation. We were looking to experience Italian culture and completely relax. That is what drew us to the beauty and laid back lifestyle of the Amalfi Coast and Positano in particular. Villa Cocles was just as it appeared on Trip Advisor, beautiful!

With 11 year-old twin boys and a 6 year-old girl, a kids friendly atmosphere is a must. Traveling with kids is so much easier with a large house and full kitchen facilities. We spent each of our 7 days at the beach and most evenings relaxing on the porch enjoying the amazing views of the city and ocean. Villa Cocles is beautifully decorated yet comfortable. Marina made us feel like we were at home. She was so warm and friendly!

Positano is on a steep hill. There is really only one street for cars that is a one-way loop. So, walking on the many staired walkways is key to getting around. After breakfast in the morning we walked the stairs down to the beach. This was our primary exercise as it takes about 700 stairs to get to Fornillo beach. Once there, the guys at Da Ferdinano took great care of us! We spent most of our days playing and relaxing on that beach.... The water was clear and the temperature perfect. At the end of the days there was no need to walk back up. We simply caught the bus which dropped us nearly at the door of Villa Cocles. Each day was perfect!

Don't let the stairs be a deter you. (unless you are physically unable to walk them) We saw them as some welcome exercise and the sunset views were well worth it.

Our favorite dinner was the night Marina cooked for us. The limoncello chicken was amazing!! We brought a bottle of limoncello home and have been trying to recreate it.... not quite the same. We may have to travel back to Villa Cocles for some more!

We probably could have been a little more adventurous, but why would we when already in paradise! So, we didn't do many excursions. The boat trip to Capri was well worth it. A little extra tip and our boat driver let us swim in the Blue Grotto. That was a definite highlight!!

Overall, this was a holiday we will never forget! It was nearly perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space and the patio view.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
.....and you are amazingly alive! All the things you did and shared with me at the end of the day. Thank you so much! And see......the swim in the Blue Grotto became just a perfect memory also for me......such an experience!
I will be waiting for you to come back and I'm expecting to see the 3 super amazing kids again!
Thank you for coming and sharing your time with me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry605
Positano, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POSITANO VILLA COCLES”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A villa with a large terrace and fabulous view that is owned by a delightful lady who is very keen to look after you. Because of a delayed flight, we arrived after midnight and yet met by Marina with a wonderful smile on her face. In the kitchen was a freah loaf of bread, cheese, tomatoes and lemoncello--wow, it was great after a long day!
The villa is all that is described on the website except that it is more spacious than we expected. The kitchen is fully equipped, the 'master suite' is special with doors and windows overlooking the terrace and beyond. This is not a unit for two couples but well suited for a family of 4-5. Located just a few steps off the road, it is very secure and has ready access to several little shops for food, wine etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace with the view
Liked least: minor water tap problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
My guests are welcome any time!
To travel is a pleasure, to welcome is my mission!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie...
la canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Cocles is in our hearts forever!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved our stay at Villa Cocles, and Marina was wonderful! We had a beautiful dinner al fresco on the terrace the night we arrived. The view, the food, the wine… it was all amazing! The villa is huge, but we mostly used the terrace. How can you not? The views are absolutely breathtaking. We enjoyed our time chatting with Marina, and she even joined us on a hike, which was a wonderful surprise! She also walked us to the bus stop on the morning of our departure to see us off. I also want to mention that the quaint little town near the villa was so convenient for our stay. It has a wonderful small market with great fruit, a lovely restaurant, and the Bar International has wonderful gelato. We spent an entire week, enjoying the magnificent beauty of Positano, and we will never forget it! Marina -- your villa is so special! We enjoyed our time so much! What a lovely time we had! We do hope to come back to Villa Cocles someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: We did have some trouble with mosquitoes but that is how it is in Positano!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
I have to admit that the hike day will be unforgettable! Thank you for letting me part of that special day. It was amazing.
And another unforgettable moment has been listening the kids singing.
Please, come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle P
2 reviews
“If you know what is good for you!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you know what’s good for you ---you will go to Villa Cocles. It is like the special surprise present that goes way above all expectations. In the hectic summer Amalfi you find this retreat – calm with an exceptionally wonderful view for you eye to feast on. The apartment in an old monastery is inventively decorated and quirky – and there is this fantastic cosy kitchen, which has all the utilities you could ever want form a professional kitchen. So it is just a few steps up to the local shops with the wonderful selection of local vegetables and whatever you need to cock your own fantastic Italian dishes. Marina is happy to help with the creations and is the most fantastic hostess you could ever ask for.

Vila Cocles gets the absolutely warmest recommendation from a very choosy customer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
I simply love when my guests enjoy my kitchen. It makes me fell happy 'cause I know that they are enjoying the ingredients freshness, exactly the way I do when I cook, my passion.
Sharing this with new people, guests and friends has no price for me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$707
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing