We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
784
168
30
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
168
30
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vw beetle amalfi coast our honeymoon pool area beautiful hotel breakfast buffet superior room common areas overlooking positano large terrace breathtaking views visiting positano each morning loved this hotel pastries main beach beba
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights in Positano with a couple of our friends. We chose Poseidon based on the location and we could not have been happier. The hotel itself has a charm that is unparalleled. Heavy furniture, tapestries and carpets throughout make you feel as though you are wandering the halls of some private villa. The rooms are clean and spacious, but the real star is the view from all of the terraces! We never got tired of standing there look out over the town and the Mediterranean. The staff makes you feel right at home, responsive and happy to help with anything. The breakfast is amazing, or maybe the food just tastes better because of the view! My only comment would be that the restaurant (other than for breakfast) really doesn't stand up to the other amazing restaurants nearby. The food wasn't bad, but you can get truly amazing food at several places nearby. Overall we would return in a heartbeat and we thank the Poseidon staff for a truly memorable trip!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank jaimecf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I have such high praise for this hotel. We were on a three centre fly drive holiday and Positano was our last resort and wow what a wonderful way to end our holiday the town itself is stunning in my view far prettier than Amalfi. When we arrived we were greeted by lovely reception staff who got our bags and parked our car. We were then shown around the hotel and to our room via a lovely wooden lift. Our room was spacious with a lovely en suite and private balcony with jaw dropping views of Positano and the beach. The cleanliness of the room and in fact the whole hotel was faultless with great attention to detail. The decor of the bedroom was in keeping with the age of the hotel and we were impressed with the way our room was replenished every day sometimes twice a day as there is a turn down service in the evening.
The communal areas of the hotel are fabulous with the pool/ terrace area being a perfect spot to sit especially in the evening where it is lit by candles everywhere. So relaxing to sit there having a drink over looking Positano just perfect.
The staff are the biggest asset of this hotel professional attentive friendly but never intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble and they go out of their way to ensure you have a lovely stay.
I have noticed comments about being unable to sleep due to noise which I don't understand as I am very sensitive to noise and slept really well. Yes you are aware of traffic noise but it's not a major issue even if it was when all the windows are closed you can't hear a thing and there is a quiet efficient air conditioning system in the room to deal with hot nights.
Lack of car parking is an issue on the Amalfi coast so if you are driving to the hotel use their car parking service where they will park your car and get it for you at anytime. It costs 25 euros a day which appears a lot but once you are there you will be glad you have paid it as we wouldn't have wanted to have the stress of finding a parking space in the one way system would be driving around for hours!
I would also recommend eating in the hotel restaurant, fine dining at its best and looked after by the most lovely waiting staff. Breakfast is also impressive fantastic spread and we were fortunate enough due to glorious weather having breakfast and our evening meal on the terrace....magical.
We also ate out in Positano even in October nearly all restaurants are still open and the whole of Positano is vibrant.
I wish I was back there ....will have to make do with my lovely very memories a very special place.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to have a room with views of the sea well worth it
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

If you stay in this small city you are best to obtain a hotel situated below the only road and not above. The noise from cars and endless scooters going past never ends and the hotels above the road suffer from the noise. I rented two rooms so and both were so filled with road noise I could not sleep. Worst hotel of the trip. To be fair the staff were excellent and helpful. Rent a scooter if you know how to ride a motorcycle and head up the road.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Poseidon is a wonderful hotel, with a phenomenal complementary breakfast buffet, great rooms with stunning views & great service. The bar had a guy playing live music who was spectacular.
My only complaint is the shower was quite small for a junior suite in a hotel this wonderful.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Such a wonderful hotel!! Simply the best views of Positano you can get. We splurged and stayed in a deluxe junior suite, which was a spacious room with a king bed, couches and a large terrace overlooking the town and ocean. The furniture is older style but cleanliness and comfort is immaculate and the whole hotel has a ton of character, working perfectly with the ambience of the area.

The communal area on level 1 with the restaurant, terrace and pool is just a stunning place to hang out. Visually awe-inspiring - you never want to leave.

The stroll down to the beach is only around 10 mins and you can avoid the steep stairs by walking on the road if you prefer. It really is a perfect location - high enough for stunning views, low enough to get into town very quickly. We were contemplating Buca di Bacco which is a beach side hotel, but were so glad we chose this place instead because the views are so much more interesting.

Food in the restaurant was also really excellent - expensive but really no different to the rest of Positano, Amalfi and Capri which are places designed to empty your pockets.

The hotel assisted us to hire a car one day to drive along the coast and we were to delighted to get a little Fiat convertible, perfect for navigating the windy roads in style. It was so much fun and really good value.

All in all, this was our best holiday ever and we dream of one day returning to this perfect little corner of the world.

Room Tip: Deluxe junior suites have superb views, but I suspect most rooms in the hotel would too.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aljoshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews