We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
182
46
28
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
46
28
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cala di volpe high cost private beach costa smeralda lobby bar lunch buffets speak loudly high end resort main restaurant stay was wonderful classic style off the charts pool restaurant amalfi coast four seasons your eyes gelato
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

The views are what this place is about. The rooms and bathrooms are average. Breakfast is really good. The dinners likewise while somewhat expensive are spectacular. The key is to get the dinner plan. two meals a day should do it. Also buy wine at a store and have your drinks on your deck and not at the restaurant which is overpriced for beverages. That just leaves the water for 15 euros. Why they try to fleece the guests is beyond me. The concierges are great. The pools and beaches are lovely. We went in September which is probably cheaper and were upgraded due to Marriott status. It's best to tell them about that before arrival.

Room tip: Marriott or Starwoods status upgrades
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Costa Smeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear David999,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing with us your experience. It was a great pleasure to have you our Guest.
What concerns the Marriott status, should we miss this information during the reservaiton process we always double check it at the check in once the guests reach the hotel.

Looking forward to see you next year

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The price for hotel guest for the sumptuous lunch buffet is 110 euros not including drinks- high but not outrageous. When we got the bill, we were unpleasantly surprised to learn that the price for our 4 guests was double ours- 220 euros each before wine or even coffee. We complained but without result. Were they sending a message that non-hotel guests are unwelcome or are they just taking advantage? Either way, we won't go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frischome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Costa Smeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Frischome,

Thank you for your comment. We feel very sad about the conclusion you made. Don't you agree that the guests who already spend on the night stays should receive some advantage on price with respect to the external guests.. Actually all the menus list the full price and it seems strange that you were not advised on it, since you were given a loyalty black card during the check in with all the explanation on restaurant benefits. Probably it can be a good point to put a big chalkboard instead of the lunch menus to avoid any kind of misunderstanding.

Once again sorry for the wrong impression, it is never our intention to make any kind of discrimination, but simply to elevate the experience of the hotel guests being restoration part of the whole journey with us.

Best regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 9/9-9/15 great location but the hotel
Hosted a 18th birthday party for some very wealthy
People without advance notice. The outdoor band
Played till 1:45am. Although the artists were great
We had to get up early the next day for our flight home. On top of it all three drunk kids tried breaking
Into our ground level room at 4:00am! They actually
Hit the door so hard it cracked and partially broke
Open. When we complained the hotel claimed we
Got to hear free music. They offered us nothing.
The morning breakfast buffet food was good but the service was very slow.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Costa Smeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Gary A.,

Thank you once again for staying at the Cala di Volpe. It was our pleasure having you and your beautiful wife our guests at the Hotel.
We feel very sad to know that the last night accident seems to have ruined your overall stay, and we deeply apologize for the hotel guests who mistakenly were trying to enter your door. We checked the door straight after your departure and there were no actual damage on it. While after your departure we had to investigate and the above guests were invited to leave the hotel on the same day.

The music stopped exactly at 00.48, after the midnight the volume was lowered since at the celebration took part only half of the hotel guests and therefore we had to meet the needs of the rest of the guests, even though many of these reported to have really enjoyed the music. We understand that you had a morning flight and unfortunately had to check out early, otherwise we would have offered you a late check out like in case with your friends you were travelling together with.

What concerns the advance note, during the season Cala Di Volpe hosts lots of events from exclusive weddings, festivals, fashion shows, two gala dinners with concert, sport events like Costa Smeralda Golf Invitational, MaxiYacht Rolex Cup and others. Most of these are advertised on our website. During the reservation we advise on the two events - July and August Gala Dinners with Concert - since some services like swimming pool and barbecue for lunch are unavailable for the day of the concert. For all the other events all the services are available and the hotel is fully operating.

For what concerns your comment on service, it is not clear what exactly you refer to since egg order for example needs it time.
We will anyway take it into deep consideration.

Thank you once again for taking time to share your experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back to may remedy to this unpleasant night disturb and make your stay a special one from the beginning to the end as we used to.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

A superb elegant place, we had a romantic dinner on the sea side, light music behind and perfect pasta with truffles, it was lovely to watch to sunset from the terrace of the main restaurant. A unique place to visit !

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Costa Smeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Juste Sublime,

It a great pleasure to read your comment and get to now that you had a lovely romantic dinner at our property. We also suggest you next time to try our signature Bellini cocktail of the sunset colour. Very good!

Hope to see back over the years

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The Hotel Cala Di Volpe, Roger Moore who was able to take to the big screen in The Spy Who Loved Me, which took place in the gorgeous Costa Smeralda in Sardinia, Italy.Stayed there one day to get the feeling of Bond location.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Nybro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Costa Smeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Nybro007,

Hope that you could testify the feeling of Bond location that is Cala di Volpe, and also understand why this very hotel was chosen to cast The Spy Who Loved Me. This year we hosted a pop-up restaurant Matsuhisa Nobu over there, and next year it will become a full restaurant with such a unique view.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews