We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
413
92
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
92
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta his team course meal top marks gargano peninsula nice pool air conditioning this family run hotel lovely experience warm hospitality food was wonderful his mother our honeymoon adriatic sea olive groves old town marino
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel deserves the high ratings! Marino and his staff do an excellent job making every guest feel at home. The hotel is beautiful and the views are stunning. Marino greeted us when we arrived and was always available to help us with any questions we had. The service at the hotel was some of the best we received in Italy! The complimentary breakfast was very fresh, the dinner was great and quite a deal for 25€ a person for a 4-course meal, and he had an excellent wine selection at the hotel. At dinner and when we got a few bottles during our stay, Marino took the time to explain all the wines to us and find ones that we would enjoy. The hotel is very clean and beautiful, but the beds and pillows (like most in Italy) were not the most comfortable. Other than that, we could not rave more about our stay. You can walk to old town Peschici in about 30 minutes, but you must take a dangerous road without sidewalks. Convenient if you have a car, but not an easy walk if you want to spend a lot of time in downtown Peschici and your only mode of transportation is walking. You will love Marino and his staff!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Haley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks so much for your beautiful review. We try to get even better every day, your words encourage us. Marino & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Passion is a word used freely in Italy but this family run hotel is there passion and boy do they succeed. Marino is a wonderful host, his mother, the boss, makes the pasta on the terrace for dinner that evening. while we take the excellent breakfast, the room was excellent as was the pool, I even had a go in the gym. Going to sleep I was looking forward to breakfast and choosing what to eat that evening. Dinner was always delicious and the staff warm and friendly. Perfect.

Room tip: We were on ground floor which had great view but I think all rooms are have views.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for this wonderful review. We hope to see you again. Marino & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at La Locanda della Castellana.

The owner, Marino Cassio, is a fabulous host and has got all staff “on the same page” – informal but effective; friendly, relaxed and humorous but attentive to guest’s needs all the time.

The cuisine is exquisite and the guys in the kitchen bent over backwards to cater for food intolerances – adapting recipes and choosing suitable ingredients.

Marino is also a sommelier so the selection of wines, all sourced in Puglia, is excellent.

Thank you Marino, for your warm hospitality and for that of your team. We may not be back soon (my last visit to the Gargano was in 1982!) but we will certainly sing your praises to anyone interested to explore Peschici and its surroundings.

Room tip: You will need transport to get about - the hotel is out in the countryside but I think on a bus route.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you so much for having been our guests. We hope you'll be back soon...:) Marino & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a comfortable, spacious and welcoming property that is in a great location to explore the relatively quiet Gargano peninsula. Host Maurino makes the experience even more rich. His parents started the hotel more than 30 years ago - his mother still makes much of the pasta, and we saw his father trimming the olive grove. Maurino will help you with excursion suggestions and reservations. His kitchen staff is great. He serves a beautiful breakfast on a terrace with a Adriatic view. For a very modest price he'll also prepare your dinner.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with good air-conditioning (it can get quite hot).
He has a nice pool - great on those hot summer days. There is even a small gym that our teen-agers used.
I highly recommend this property, and hope to return some day.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ralphrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Ralph and family, thank you all for having been our guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our place. We hope that you will return some day..we are waiting for you! Marino & his staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed in a comfort room for 2 nights. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a balcony.We arrived late afternoon and had dinner on the terrace. Dinner was good, homemade and reasonable. Marino and the team were excellent - friendly and good service. They made my birthday feel very special. Breakfast was also good with plenty to eat and a wide choice.

Room tip: Comfort room was 2 rooms - one with a sofa bed the other a bed and had a balcony so would suit 2 people who liked their own space
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holidayaddict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

thank you very much and we are happy that you had a nice birthday stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews