We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
95
43
21
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
43
21
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mandetta for a couple of nights in September. Really nice family-run hotel on a clean sandy beach. You can walk to the Paestum ruins in twenty minutes or borrow a hotel bike to get there. The restaurant serves up great food and the rooms are clean. We found the staff to be very kind and welcoming.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bojabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

We had a miserable experience at this hotel. The welcome was very unpleasant, insults, contempt, no less. Breakfast was disgusting, for my part I did not eat anything, midges around rotten fruit and not fresh bread ... _ not worthy of a grand hotel. The welcome at breakfast was mortal, the staff at this hotel is either aggressive or depressive. we just want to run away very quickly and go to a new place for real vacation. I do not recommend it, plus it is very noisy: we heard slots games, play, dogs barking, short silence was not at the rendezvous. Only good point: the rooms are spacious and there is a parking lot, for against no elevator and rooms are on the first floor.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've been traveling for almost 6 months now and realise the importance of helping others with realistic and honest reviews. So much of booking hotels is reading between the lines. Here is an honest review of the Mandetta Hotel.

We booked an apartment at the Mandetta Hotel for two nights. We were keen on an apartment to cook a little and have some space.

When we arrived, the friendly and professional staff immediately offered us an upgrade to a hotel room with a sea view. Unfortunately the bed was brick hard and ofcourse this small room had no cooking facilities. We noticed the room next door was open and empty - and we sat on the bed to test it and found the bed to be very comfortable. Unfortunately when we asked - the answer was we could not change to that room. Fair enough - we understand that there may be a specific client request for that room.

So we moved to the apartment.

These are effectively around the back in the carpark. They are a flat roofed construction with a little hothouse kitchenette in front and a room and bathroom behind.

Issues with the apartment:

1. Kitchen is totally bare
There is NOTHING in the kitchen. Not a pot, pan, spoon or fork. Nada ! We've stayed in many apartments in Italy and Europe. All were equipped. How useless is an apartment rental with nothing to cook with ? We asked about this situation and requested some cooking utensils etc. We got given four plastic cups.

2. The room is similar to a prison cell with bars on the windows, iron beds, the lack of light and the low ceilings.

3. The airconditioner seemed around 20 years old did not work. It blew out hot air. It just had a control for 1,2 and 3 speeds but no temperature control. It just did not work at all.

4. In the bathroom a hairdryer fitting was pulled away from the wall exposing bare electrical cables. In a wet bathroom - we stayed away from that.

5. The shower water was tepid (not hot and barely warm) and sprayed all over the toilet (located next to it so no chance to avoid this).

6. The door to the bedroom could not be locked. Only the outer door to the apartment which was less than secure.

We stayed for the night and then bailed the next morning.

We also spoke to an UK couple who experienced no aircon or hot water in their hotel room. A Russian family in one of the apartments also complained about no kitchen equipment.

Positives:

There are positives about this hotel.

1. The hotel staff were always professional and courteous.
2. The place is definitely very clean. The cleaning staff were excellent and friendly.
3. There was onsite parking.
4. The location next to the beach and close to the ruins is great.
5. The hotel only charged us for one night (eventhough we'd booked for two and left at 10am).
6. We used the bikes that were provided and free.

Room tip: Do NOT take an apartment at this hotel. Check the rooms. Room 103's bed is rock hard. The one to the right (facing the sea) is much more comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cg100a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The people running this place are really friendly. Maybe it is good to advise tourist to stay in the hotel, not the nearby apartments. We stayed in one of these so-called apartments / something like bungalows/. Although it was spacious, the furniture was outdated. Moreover, we had 2 of 2 noisy nights.
The restaurants is beautiful, but very expensive, 3 euros per person per service.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The location of this very fine hotel is fantastic. It is within walking distance of the archeological site and temples, on a gorgeous beach, and part of a wonderful summer vacation in the country setting. There is also an excellent restaurant in the hotel and very friendly and helpful family staff members.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews