We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
194
27
9
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
27
9
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardinal suite the owner one night bulgari toiletries renovated property level room white roses honesty bar wines produced wine tasting working vineyard magical days historic building stunning views modern design amazing property magical place
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Located in the middle of a working vineyard and winery, the palazzone is located outside of the town of Orvieto. Historic building that has been remodeled, taking into considerration all modern amenities. The staff are remarkable; Christiania, who is the owner, was delightful to talk with,especially regarding the 4 year renovation of the property. The one night we were there we opted to eat dinner out on the terrace; so glad we did it! We had an all fish dinner prepared by their Austrian chef, Ricardo. It was one of the best meals of our trip through Italy. Definitely would go back. Great beds and make-up mirrors in the bathroom!

Room tip: Our room was 2 stories; bedroom and bath located upstairs. May want to consider one level room next time.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

My husband and I stayed in the junior suite and it could not have been better. Great views and excellent service. We also opted for the dinner which was excellent and intimate. The staff did everything they could to make our stay great including packing us a to go breakfast since we had to leave early. Noise does travel in the hallway and between rooms which was the only downside.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katrine_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The view is astonishing. The room is very comfortable. The food is horrible : for dinner it was very basic ( and cost 40€): probably a good idea NOT to have dinner there. Breakfast was a huge disappointment too: any Ibis (**) hotel does better. We were so much looking forward to finishing our trip with an amazing place... so we try to remember the beautiful landscapes

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

This was a memorable and delightful experience -- better than we could have ever hoped for! The owners (Christiana) and staff (Emanuella and Maurizio) could not be more friendly, kind and accommodating to me and my wife. We felt very special (personal attention given) and incredibly relaxed at this beautiful property. We received a personal wine tour and wonderful education about their special vineyard. The accommodations were the perfect balance of modern amenities and old world charm. All we can say is exceptional property and value all around! Thanks again to all for the great memories! We will be back with a small group!

Room tip: Very nice and modern everything you need!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rthomp449181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The setting and views from Palazzone are incredible. The rooms were modern and clean, excellent bedding, comfortable beds. Spacious bathrooms. A couple things that disappointed us is they do not have any comfortable outdoor seating. They only have wood benches or uncomfortable small metal chairs. The pool has better furniture, but no cushions, certainly not luxurious seating. The outdoor space where you eat breakfast and dine is gravel which makes for uncomfortable sitting and walking. Be warned, they serve dinner every night and if you don't dine there, they don't want you to be around. No where you can just relax and enjoy the beauty outside or in the beautiful living room because if the weather is bad, that's where they serve dinner. We spent one evening sequestered in our room having wine and cheese (because we had dined on a large lunch, just wanted antipasto for dinner). The noise from the living/dining room floats directly up to the rooms, so if the dinner guests are partying loudly, you will hear them--one night it went on until midnight! Also be warned that the walls separating the bedrooms are not insulated. We had a neighbor who had a loud hacking cough which kept us awake for 2 nights (until they left!). Our suggestion would be they stop serving a formal dinner. It's too small of a place (only 7 rooms) to support a chef. The food was okay (but not nearly as good as the restaurants in Orvieto), and it was so awkward having only 1 - 3 tables (some of which were only 2 people). We recommend a more casual dining experience with a pizza oven/pasta so if people have been sight seeing all day, they can come back to this lovely spot and relax with a bottle of wine and Italian comfort food.

Room tip: rooms need some sort of sound proofing--you can hear every door open and close--and as mentioned above, your neighbor coughing or sneezing.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank D8711IBsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews