We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with nice view in quiet but a bit...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa poiana

One of the three terraces with views over the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the three terraces with views over the lake
Casa Poiana Casa Poiana
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
One of the three terraces with views over the lake
Casa Poiana
Casa Poiana
fully equipped kitchen
dining area
master bedroom
private terrace in front of master bedroom
guest bedroom
terrace with BBQ area
bolsena town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
John M
1 review
“Great house with nice view in quiet but a bit remote area”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The only negative is that you have to travel a long way on a rutted dirt road. Passable for regular cars if you go very slow-no sports cars! It a;so should be noted that if driving from direction Orvieto it is very hard to find turn off on right and you cannot make the turn without going into other lane. Best to continue a bit and make a U turn. This being said I would rent again.

How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTav79
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful property with amazing outlook”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our stay in this villa was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Located about 15min drive from the small town of Bolsena - a clean, pretty, well maintained town on the lake- it is ideal for a peaceful getaway, in the off season at least. We stayed over Easter and it was quiet, yet cafes and restaurants on the waterfront were open.
The villa is well restored and laid out, and whilst not spotlessly clean (a bit of dust and cobwebs) this was more than made up for by the very well appointed kitchen, modern bathrooms, and wonderful view from 2 outdoor areas. More than enough room for me and my 2 children (sharing a bed room) and my parents. They swing in the tree, sandpit and friendly local cat were all very pleasant surprises, especially for my young children.
The hosts were pleasant and helpful, when the fridge failed a new small fridge was personally delivered by the owner within 24hrs, even though it was Easter and this would have meant hours of driving for him!
Access to the property was via a rough unpaved road, but if you follow the directions carefully & take it slow, its fine, even in a normal sedan.
Overall a wonderful stay and we would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dizzy616
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a beautiful area with beautiful views... Just beautiful!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here in July '15 for one week and didn't want to leave. The views are spectacular over lake Bolsena and the house is very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Bolsena itself was a short drive away, we could have walked into town if my husband hadn't broken his leg a few months earlier. Don't let the road put you off going here, it adds to the charm of Casa Poina, just try not to hire a low slung car, however we did and it wasn't a problem, just added to the fun. Total chillin week with amenities 10 minutes away! Thank you Maria and Sean for youre hospitality. Bellisimo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
169Sandra...
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“Another wonderful stay at beautiful Casa Poiana”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Another wonderful stay at beautiful Casa Poiana

Following a history of more than 15 years of vacations in the “undiscovered treasure” of Lazio we came up with Casa Poiana in the vicinity of Lago di Bolsena.

The house sits on a secluded, almost isolated hill-side with a breathtaking view to the lake. At the same time it is within 5 minutes of a drive from the city center with all of its offerings from beach to restaurants. If one feels up to it, one can jog to the beach on “Via Francigena” and have a morning cappuccino after a twenty-five minutes of an exercise.

House is very tastefully designed with quintessential Italian “chic”; complemented with distinctive style and spark. House comfortably accos are within their own peace with master bedroom attached to its own bathroom with beammodates 4 (even up to six ) and is equipped with state of the art amenities inclusive of satellite tv and WI-Fi connections. Kitchen is second to none and the open terrace provides for picturesque scenery to enjoy and entertain. 1-story setting is very spacious and bedroomutiful tile-work.

Truly a unique offering in the middle of the best the lake-side Italy has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect and unforgettable holidays”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had the most wonderful vacation at Casa Poiana. The house is very private and has a fantastic view over the lake. The house is very cosy, its very well equipped especially the kitchen. We enjoyed sitting on the terraces facing the lake. Everything went very smoothly, Domenica the house manager was very friendly and answered all our questions. We will definitely come back and we will recommend Casa Poiana to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The silence and the perfect lake view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing