We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveller rating
447
326
73
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
326
73
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location modern art a family run hotel literally steps narrow streets park your car side street air conditioning corner room mini bar junior suite the main square pastries lovely hotel the wi fi would stay here again hard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 865 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Wish the rating could show 4 1/2 stars - Stayed at the hotel and could not have been more pleased with the location. Right alongside the Duomo. On arriving in Orvieto train station you can buy a pass for 20 euro that will not only provide you a round trip to the hotel, but also get you into the Duomo (Cathedral) and most of the museums you'd want to see. Here's how it works. Get the ticket in the train station or the café next door (someone in the station can point the way) Next, with ticket in hand walk across the street to the funicular - the ticket you bought is for a round trip. At the top a bus will take you to the Duomo (BTW - St. Patrick's well is to the right of the funicular station as you exit it). The bus will drop you off at the Duomo and as you face it look to the left and you'll see the Enoteca Al Duomo restaurant along the side of the Duomo. The Hotel is just before it and down a short flight of stairs. The hotel has a reliable and free WiFi, a competent breakfast and an accommodating staff, many of the rooms have a view of the Duomo. Just outside the front door you can turn right and up the stairs to the Duomo and in the Piazza are many of the museums. Taking a left and an immediate left leads to one of the main shopping streets. Turning Right takes you down the street (del Duomo) and directly to the clock tower (Torre del Moro - your ticket allows you to climb the clock tower for excellent views). As you approach the clock tower you can also make a right to take you down the Corso Cavour which eventually leads back to the funicular and St. Patricks well. Or at the clock tower you can make a left and staying on the right side of the next Piazza (Palazzo Comunale) the street on the right will lead to the Etruscan well (also on you ticket). Almost needless to say, we'd stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Gsmithbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Hotel Duomo is a small hotel, located down a stairway from the plaza of the duomo.
We found the staff to be helpful.
The room was clean and spacious. The only thing for which they can be faulted is the bathing arrangement: the tub/shower combo has an extremely high entry, and there are no dedicated grab bars. If your agility is in any way impaired, you're going to have trouble taking a bath or shower. Another smaller issue was that the wifi was intermittently quite weak.
They provide a free breakfast , which was good. This includes freshly brewed coffee drinks made to order.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kingfisher752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We stayed at the Hotel Duomo five years ago - in the same room - room 76 on the third floor with a view of the Duomo. It is a very spacious room with a separate seating area. We drove from Rome and we were given good directions for our GPS to drive right to the front of the hotel, where they parked our rental car for us in their garage. Street access to the hotel is VERY tight so be sure to rent the smallest car possible. Parking is 10 euro per night.

Breakfast was a nice buffet style with meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, pastries, juice and your choice of hot beverage. Our room was clean and the wi-fi worked well. The only minor complaint was that the shower water pressure was not that great. The location is excellent. Orvieto is a compact town and you can easily walk to all of the sights from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again were we to return to Orvieto.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The location is well positioned near the heart of Orvieto. The hotel looks new and tastefully decorated with modern art and feels welcoming. The rooms are large for Europe and are nice and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful regarding activities. I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cgouge2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Duomo and our only disappointment was that it was for only one evening. The entire staff were very helpful and friendly, and were very patient with our disastrous attempt at Italian! The room was extremely spacious and clean, with a lovely view. We initially thought that the parking would be challenging, but they went out of their way to show us which way to drive to the hotel and then parked our rental in their garage. The town had SO many quaint shops and restaurants, as well as attractions - we just need to come back!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews