We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
17
22
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
22
14
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Took a group of 40 students to this hotel during Easter 2014, it was by far the best hotel we stayed in out of three.

The hotel is well located for groups using a Coach to get around as 2 mins from a suitable pick-up/drop-off location. Also within a short walk of the Train Station for trains to Florence.

The facilities in the hotel are good, it has recently been renovated and and for somewhere so affordable the quality of finish is very good. There is good WiFi (important with school groups!) and there's plenty of space for socialising downstairs in the reception area and conservatory.

The breakfast is basic, but the croissant are freshly baked and there are options available to those with strict dietary requirements. We only ate one evening meal in the hotel, but it was very good - well tailored to the school group without just being the 'burger and chips' school groups are so often presented with.

The staff are very helpful, and the new owners were on hand to resolve what few issues there were. They spoke very good English and genuinely cared about making sure everything was up to the high standards they have set.

When an injury to a student resulted in them returning from the local hospital late at night the owners were able to organise Pizzas to be delivered to the hotel for both the Coach Drivers and our member of staff and student.

Altogether a hotel I would use again for a trip to the area and one I would very highly recommend for any group visit to the area - especially a school group as with around 40 students you will have sole occupancy of the hotel.

I wish all the hotels I have used for school trips were this good!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank andy_rcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was the best that I stayed in while I was in Italy. It has good views out of the bedroom windows and some rooms even have balconies! The balcony was very big however it is liked to the room next door. However this would not be an issue if you knew the people in the room like I did. The room was a reasonable size however if you are staying in a triple room be prepared that all the beds are touching or very close. The bathroom was very large and the shower was good. The meals were good and the group I was with was well catered for. The only thing I would say is the lack of choice at breakfast. The wifi was good but had to stand in the doorway to get it in the room. The lobby and conservatory was a good space to relax and socialise. You cannot really here the road outside unless you have the windows open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma161998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel was chosen by National coach holidays, without any research, for our stay last week. There was only one bed made up in the room when we arrived, the breakfast was practically non - existent and was non - existent the day we were having a trip to Rome. The room was clean but that was about it. There was one tv in the hotel foyer which only had Italian channels on it.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consuelo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rubens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013
Google Translation

buongiorno signora, mi spiace per quello che ha lei scritto ma la colazione era come hanno detto i suoi amici abbondante, forse lei avrebbe gradito qualcosa d'altro ma bastava chiedere, per la televisione tutte le camere sono fornite di tv e sono presenti canali in tutte le lingue, le auguriamo una buona giornata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed there 1 night. Rooms are pretty good, modern design, average beds, nice bathroom, but the service is not just awfull, there is no service at all!
The poorest breakfast I've ever seen in a hotel.
I guess in this hotel there is 2 or max 3 employees, nobody to help you with bags, nobody to help you in the restaurant.
Overall I'll recommend this hotel, if you planify to rest here a night, not more.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The location was convenient for both the Bus & Rail station. A walk of about 10 minutes into town and about 15 minutes to the funicular railway. No social life at the hotel for the solo traveller but plenty of cafes within 5 minutes for food and drink. Breakfast was essentially continental and perfectly adequate, unless you are one of those people who can only exist on "Full English Breakfast" and should stay at home. I could have complained about no English channels on the tv but why leave home if you want to watch tv. Would recommend the hotel more than the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldgit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews