We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
33
47
32
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
47
32
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room montecatini alto quiet section la pace train station ham yogurt preserves boiled eggs recommend this hotel location is great minute walk charming hotel balcony cheese town tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We were part of a tour package and San Marco Hotel was included in our package. The rooms were very dated, but clean, the daily breakfast was average. The room we stayed in had two twin beds and a head board that kept falling onto our beds if it wasn’t propped up properly. Room 310 is to be avoided. It had a nice balcony and the bathroom was clean BUT that’s about it. I would not stay here again and giving this hotel a 3 based on the service provided at the front desk and in the breakfast room.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We once again stayed at the Hotel San Marco- always return here when in Tuscany. The location is great, next to the park with access to the funicular up to Alto, and not far from the town center, restaurants, and train station. The staff is friendly and courteous, and the views from the hotel are wonderful. The hotel is fairly quiet, but near to everything you'd want. We will definitely go back there.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

room flooded with water not cleaned up when asked. room looked out onto tin roof
travelled with National holidays they knew that this hotel had no working kitchen as it caught fire in June 2018 .we had to walk to sister hotel a five star not for their food though that was a disgrace sliced turkey from the cold meat counter warmed up until it was so dry served with peas what a joke. not fit for a dog to eat!

Room tip: don't bother going
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel for one night travelling with National holidays. The room/ rooms we were given are worse than prison cells. We were given a twin room which you’d think would mean 2 beds in the same room. Oh no they give you 2 separate rooms and 2 separate bathrooms with doors. As a couple this is not acceptable. We complained and they offered a similar room on the 6th floor but we’d have to walk up stairs as the lift doesn’t go that far. After recently having had surgery not an option. We were also told that we couldn’t use the swimming pool. We’ve paid for this facility. Next they don’t serve hot food so we were ushered through a back door to their sister hotel to be served pork and peas. Absolutely disgusting. We had to eat elsewhere.
The hotel have replied to other reviews saying they offered us free drinks. OH NO YOU DIDN’T. This was the worst experience I’ve ever had abroad. Any good reviews are written by National Holidays and the hotel. Don’t book this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NationalH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in some awful places in my time but this has to be at the top of the list. To say it’s disgusting is an understatement. We stayed here with National Coach Holidays, and I believe they have used this hotel before, the staff are almost non-existent. They will tell you of a fire in the kitchen so meals will be served in the sister hotel, what they don’t tell you is the way they walk you over there ushering you through the back door and into a room far away from the paying guests and feed you food not fit for pigs. I could go on and on but I’m sure it has all been said in previous reviews. It feels more like a knocking shop than a respectable hotel. Oh yes, by 10pm they had run out of beer wine and glasses. I will finish by saying, any good reviews must have been written by national holidays or the hotel them selves.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank helenscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews