We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
148
214
98
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
214
98
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vending machine electric kettle main road breakfast buffet stylish hotel organised tour lovely terrace lovely park italian hotels ideal location rooms are large funicular railway scrambled eggs town centre stayed nights would definitely stay here again fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We had been booked into this hotel as part of a tour of Tuscany.
We were very lucky to have been allocated a good room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, room 106. There was a kettle and two cups but no tea, coffee or milk, never been confronted with this before in a four star hotel.
Very nice bed linen on a large bed, bathroom was very clean and modern with a hairdryer.
On going back down to reception we noticed the carpet in the stairs was dirty and stained. We found a very small bar in the corner of the lounge but nobody manning it, we asked at reception if we could get a drink, eventually a very attentive member of staff served us drinks and then disappeared again.
Next morning we went down for breakfast, very very poor hot food but just about ok continental breakfast.
During breakfast we had to choose our evening meal from a very limited three course menu. The evening meal when served was poor quality and not very hot. One female waitress was very miserable and we felt we were a nuisance taking up her time.
Overall I would not return by choice as so many other hotels to choose from in Montecatini Terme that can only be better.
This hotel is in a good location to the funicular for Montecatini Alto so must have seen better days and needs to catch up to the competition.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MikeOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTettuccio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tettuccio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your experience in Grand Hotel Tettuccio.
Your buffet breakfast was composed by: Croissants, Plum cakes, Fruit tart, cornflakes, cereals, rice crisps, fresh cold milk, natural yogurt, fruit yogurt, fruit jam, chocolate, cold cuts, sliced cheese, biscuits, orange fruit juice, pineapple fruit juice, hot beverage coffee, tea, milk, fresh fruits, egg, bacon, wurstel and sausages...exactly what your agency ask us to include the same regarding the dinner.
I'm really surprise about your negative comments as during your 7 day stay you never complain with me or your tour leader.
Anyway your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement by solving those and continue trying to exceed expectations. On my own behalf and on that of the Grand Hotel Tettuccio team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future. Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour group for 4 nights. Every day we would arrive back after a long day of tours, the veranda was the perfect place to wind down. The bartender did a fabulous job, always a smile on her face, took great care of us. Even though it was a busy place the staff stayed on top of things. Our room was small but very clean. The shower was the smallest I’ve seen in a hotel! The breakfast buffet had many selections, including fabulous fresh fruit and vegetables. Something for everyone. There is a smaller pool but adequate along with a place to relax. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Msjoannwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTettuccio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tettuccio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your experience in Grand Hotel Tettuccio.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing holiday and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially regarding to the entertainment, staff, cleanliness.
Your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement by solving those and continue trying to exceed expectations.
On my own behalf and on that of the Grand Hotel Tettuccio team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Tettuccio for a couple of nights in August 2018. Our room had a touch of luxury. There was a huge double bed and a magnificent and imaginatively decorated bathroom, which possessed all essential facilities. There was a fridge in the room, a free to use safe and, unusually, an electric kettle. Both dinner and breakfast were very good, well up to scratch, and service was good. The room was serviced daily. Don't miss the Funicolare for an ascent to Montecatini Alto - a five star visit! (7 euros return). There are frequent cultural events in the town.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTettuccio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tettuccio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your experience in Grand Hotel Tettuccio.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing holiday and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially regarding to the entertainment, staff, cleanliness and restaurant.
Your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement by solving those and continue trying to exceed expectations.
On my own behalf and on that of the Grand Hotel Tettuccio team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The room was nice and clean everyday.Had some issues with humidity around the air-conditioning and small places with mold in the bathroom, but overall the room was good.
Not all of the personnel could speak English so that you could easily communicate. Thankfully one of the personnel good also speak Greek!
As for the breakfast buffet there are 2 different ones something that i haven't seen it any-other place I have visited. The explanation given was that we had access only to one of them because of the price!!! It had only the minimum and the last day in breakfast they served us the remains of last nights desert pineapple. Even though the hotel was fine and the location was good the breakfast thing really disappointed me!
The dinner was always a three course meal for which we were asked in breakfast to choose between 2 choices and it was ok.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristosL134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTettuccio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tettuccio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your experience in Grand Hotel Tettuccio.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing holiday and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially regarding to the entertainment, staff, cleanliness.
There's no one in our staff unfortunately who speaks Greek, so maybe you confused with another hotel in your holidays; but all the staff speak very good english in Reception and Restaurant.
Your buffet breakfast was composed by: Croissants, Plum cakes, Fruit tart, cornflakes, cereals, rice crisps, fresh cold milk, natural yogurt, fruit yogurt, fruit jam, chocolate, cold cuts, sliced cheese, biscuits, orange fruit juice, pineapple fruit juice, hot beverage coffee, tea, milk, fresh fruits...exactly what your agency ask us to include.
We have 2 breakfast rooms, one dedicated to our individual clients and the other to our groups; this is done only to guarantee to everybody always cleaned tabled and free places.
Your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement by solving those and continue trying to exceed expectations.
On my own behalf and on that of the Grand Hotel Tettuccio team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future. Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Staff is not friendly at all, very rude and not helpful; the rooms are too small and they fit 3 beds inside it, the shower was broken, breakfast is terrible, overall very bad experience, the only good thing about it is that it is very close to the town center

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 888zeinabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTettuccio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tettuccio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Guest,

it is a big surprise to read this review from you as we did our very best to satisfied all your requests.

You and your friends came to us through an agency who didn't book the rooms directly with us but through an intermediator who mistake all the rooms type.
At the moment of your arrival was not possible to change any rooms as we were fully booked.

The following morning we changed all the rooms layout taking off all the 3' and 4' beds as per your request.

Nobody from your group came to the front desk complaining about anything or asking to fix the shower which is working well at the moment, so maybe it would be enough to ask the way to use it.

Our entire staff was very friendly and kind with you all, even if from the beginning your attitude was rude and unpolite.
We apologized with you several times about the situation out of our control even if it was not our mistake.

Wishing you a nice summer, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews