We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere on cold winter evenings”

Hostaria Vite Rossa
Ranked #18 of 396 Restaurants in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A very nice small place where you can find typical venetian food called "cicchetti" (Tapas). Famous in town is frequently full local people. Many finger foodd is prepared every day from the staff. Fresh home made pasta and cakes from the mummy's kitchen. Main courses cooked with seasonal ingredients, local and national wines, and artesanal beers. Don't lose the occasion to entry in "Hostaria Vite Rossa", Best in town.
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This little bar on a side-street in Mestre really is fantastic; full of locals crammed together just chatting, having a drink and a snack. Fantastic little tapa and wonderful drinks; great wine and aperol spritz for just €3!!! Just a great atmosphere and very different to main-stream Venice.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank damiengobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We chose this place because of other reviews and they were not wrong. Me and a friend arrived early, at 7pm, and requested a table for dinner. They had most places reserved at 8 but they let us sit and order as long as we finished before. We had one plate of mixed cicchetti and one of mixed seafood cicchetti, plus half a liter of red house wine. Adding service (coperto) we paid 30€ for 2. By 8pm, the place was buzzing with local people and we liked the atmosphere so much that we stayed at the bar for some beers.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gabriela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The visit left me with mixed feeling.
The waitress told us that it is full and sent us home, but when we wonder around for 5 minutes looking online where to go a cleaning boy came by and ask if we want a table as there is one free. Later that feeling that waitress just didn’t want us there got stronger.

For the food: my gf had spaghetti and she was happy with it. I got “beef entrecôte” - the meat was rather poor quality and over cooked for medium rare.
House wine (red) was nice.

Very nice touch at the end with limoncello as a digestive on the house.

Overall - really mixed feelings.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Arkadiusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We booked in to eat at 7.30pm with a group of 9 adults and a child. The atmosphere when we first walked in was amazing. It was buzzing with chit chat and laughter. Our table was in the cosy restaurant where the staff accommodated our party of people well. We had mixed tapas to begin which was delicious, followed by a our mains, which in our group, we ordered the beef fillet, monkfish and lobster linguine. It was all cooked to perfection and the flavours incredible. When the bill came, we were all amazingly shocked at the price! €227 for all that food, bottle of wine, a couple glasses of prosecco and soft drinks. This little gem has really made our first night in Venice enjoyable. We loved it soo much, we rebooked to come back again the following night. Advance booking recommended as it is a small restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TinaV123188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Well, there’s so much about this place I don’t know where to begin!!! Visited 15th August at nearly 9.00 pm.-it was teeming with people and we were offered a table with up to 35mins wait. We were seated and meal ordered within 15mins. The staff were super friendly, efficient and very hard working-run off their feet but took the time with us to help us order. The place is small(which is the only drawback) and quirky with an eclectic mix of items decorating all surfaces!! The food was excellent and certainly very good value-no overpricing! Without hesitation-highly recommended!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank susanp988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostaria Vite Rossa also viewed

 
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to Hostaria Vite Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing