We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem by the Sea”
view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Lisa W
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“A Gem by the Sea”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Villa Capriana is truly a gem by the sea, with a spectacular view of Capri and the Gulf of Napoli. There are multiple terraces to choose from outside and a roof top terrace too, the grounds are magnificent and make a wonderful place for children to play. The pool is beautiful- I hope next time we get to use it, it was a little to cool for us in March.
The Villa is very comfortable, we had 10 people ranging from age 9 to 76. The gorgeous ceilings are tradional frescos, tiled floors, amazing artifacts, maps and antiques. All impeccable and very tasteful.
The breakfast we had each morning was out of this world, fresh eggs, veggies, prosciutto, cheese, pastries, cereals, juices, coffee/ tea and more. Unbelievable.
And the wonderful team of people taking care of us.... Carla, Allesandro and Mariolina...10 stars, they are first class. Carla noticed from my Father's passport his birthday was coming up and she offered to make him a cake- SO sweet!
They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. And Marolina's smile is infectious!
Villa Capriana is truly a gem by the Sea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC16380
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most fantastic holiday in this great villa with impressive views, excellent rooms, facilities and gardens and the most loving team taking care of us. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The team taking care of us
Liked least: The pool is small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilystam...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian villa in an incredible location surrounded by friendly people make for the trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

THE VILLA:
We stayed at Villa Murat (aka Villa Capriana) for a week with another couple. It is a magnificent villa with incredible water views on 3 sides and an incredible view towards Capri. The staff at the villa is wildly friendly and the morning breakfast complete with Italian cappacinos was a great start to an adventure everyday, If you are looking for a 5 star American hotel - this is not it. It is a charming and beautifully restored 17th century villa. The beds are comfortable, the armoires in each room are ample in size to hang clothes (although I'd like to see a few more hangers . . . ) and the showers and tubs in each bathroom are nice although running more than one shower at the same time reduced water pressure so we quickly learned to stage our showers. The pool and the grounds of the villa are BEAUTIFUL and the views from sunrise to sunset cannot be beat. We did not cook and nor did we have anyone come in to cook for us but the kitchen looked well appointed and I imagine we certainly could have created wonderful lunches and/or dinners.

THE AREA:
The villa is located at the tip of the Pennisula so it is in between the Amalfi coast and the Sorrento. It was fabulous for the 4 of us as it is out of the hustle and bustle of all the tourists. There are many great restaurants less than 10 minutes away and some will even come pick you up and drop you off. Driving is an adventure and we opted to rent scooters for the week which worked out perfectly. You do need courage and a motorcycle license in order to be able to rent scooters . . .

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES:
Scooter rental as suggested above created easy access to ride and see the entire Amalfi Coast all the way to Ravello which is very charming and Villa Ruffolo should not be missed. Private boat trip to Capri including the bustling but beautiful Blue Grotto, swimming in the Mediterranean and if you can stand the crowds take a cab up to the town of Capri and Ana Capri (I lasted 10 minutes with all the people . . .) We spent a day in Positano which also is bustling with people but worth the crowd (lunch at Chez Black) and a day in Sorrento which was also busy but fun to see Marina Grande and Marina Piccolo and all the history in the area. The highlight of the trip was renting a private boat for about $250 for the day plus another $50 for fuel. We had a certified boat captain in our group but I think they will rent a boat to anyone that has some experience and sense of adventure. We swam in the beautiful waters of the Mediterranean, enjoyed the most wonderful meal we had all week (and there were many . . . Ask Carla about the place you can only get to on foot or by boat) and saw the Amalfi Coast from the water after enjoying it earlier in the week from the scooters.

All in all - this is a fantastic villa and while a little out of the way, I can't imagine that anyone would be displeased with the choice to stay at Villa Murat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotEnough...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views, spacious villa and impeccable service make for the perfect vacation stay!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Murat is a historic villa that has been impeccably updated and renovated. It maintains the gracious feeling of a historic building with all the comforts one expects from a five star hotel. The grounds are beautifully cultivated and there are numerous terraces and each offers a different view of the sea and the Amalfi coast. It is the daily service of the house manager, caretaker and cleaning person that made this stay so special. All three went above and beyond to ensure that all in our group had the perfect vacation. We definitely hope and plan to return for another momentous family vacation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Dear Vera ,
So happy that You like Villa Capriana Murat and that you are satisfied with the villa and our service personnel. Thank you and your review of the villa are highly appreciated. Thank you so much and we look forward meeting you again at Villa Capriana Murat
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing