We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
90
81
23
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
81
23
13
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This hotel is old, doesn't have swimming pool etc., but... great location near the beach, restaurants, city center, beautifull and original architecture, great, high rooms with beautiful views from the windows, friendly and helpful service, speaking English and Polish (!) - perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: The higher floor yuo stay, the better view you have - sea, mountains or sea & mountains. But without elevator ;)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay and experience in Hotel Italia during our most recent stay in August 2017. The entire staff was caring, welcoming and terrific! It is a family run business that takes great pride in making sure all of its guest have a wonderful stay. The views from the balcony are breathtaking. The rich history of this converted residence is astounding. Renzo, Fabiana and Alberto were super and a real pleasure to deal with for our entire stay. It is situated right across a beautiful beach and the pier of Massa.

This is by far the best value and hotel in the area.

Thank you so very much Hotel Italia for being Number 1!

Room Tip: Best Views and charming history
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank papaikonomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Cute hotel with wonderful & friendly staff. Alberto and Mario spoke English and went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and memorable. Enjoyed wine & cheese we brought from a wine tasting on the 2nd floor veranda overlooking the sea. Took recommended excursions: 9:45am ferry to Cinque Terra and another morning visit to marble caves (mines). Many great seafood/pasta restaurants around. La Piniche was recommended by Alberto and it was fantastic.
This was a hidden gem to conclude our 2 weeks in Italy.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We purposely chose Hotel Italia because we wanted to avoid the sterile environments found within chain hotels. This is a lovely old villa run by a local italian family. It was easy to find on the seafront, a brightly coloured grand building.
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, they comprised of family & non-family members. Infact the son & daughter of the owner spoke pefect english and were more than happy to answer our questions about the history of the house & of the surrounding area.
The uniformed housekeeping staff were efficient and very smart.
I asked for an electric kettle in my room (to make my own tea) - no problem - a tray arrived with said kettle and all the accoutrements required to enjoy a good cuppa. Needed an iron to refresh our very wrinkled clothing - again no problem.

Breakfast each morning in the dining room was varied and good quality. Choices ranged from fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, as well as continental breakfast items.
The hotel has no lifts, but the staff were quickly able to convey all the luggage upto our room & removed the same for us when we were leaving.
It was comfortable, elegant & an authentic italian stay in a very beautiful area. Ideal place to tour to the Cinque Terre as well as the other coastal towns along this stretch. We much preferred Marina di Massa when compared to its upmarket sister Forte di Marmi, which we found too manicured & too expensive.
We had the best view from the first floor patio where we retired each evening for a glass of prosecco and watched the sun setting.
We ate at local a local trattoria which specialised in seafood - again run by a local italian family (mama in the kitchen, papa on the door & son waiting on the tables).
So to all you travellers who prefer something authentic take time to stay at the Grand Old Dame of Marina di Massa which is the Hotel Italia.

Room Tip: we had a lateral sea view room - excellent. Avoid the 2 first floor rooms facing the sea as they also overlook the first floor patio area.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Had a lovely couple of days in this hotel next to the sea. The staff were incredibly kind and caring from the minute we walked in to when we left, being sure to help with our every need. The rooms were very tidy and spacious with very tall ceilings. The hotels free bike scheme was excellent for getting around Massa. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews