We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
28
4
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
4
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique hotel shuttle bus one night amalfi coast monastery prosecco italo vincenzo luggage maori towns terrace shower sea views
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

The hotel is an old monastery that has been renovated - very nice rooms and beautiful terrace overlooking the coast. The service was great - Vincezo was always ready to help, and Sarina was very welcoming with the breakfast service. The location is outside town a ways so they provide a shuttle service starting at 11 a.m. There is a set schedule so you need to accommodate the schedule or plan to use a taxi or bus. We had a car, and they were always willing to bring it when needed (you cannot park on site) - but I would recommend generally not using a car because traffic is crazy and parking is very limited. There is bus and ferry service all along the coast. The room was very comfortable although a little cool and damp since you are basically in a cave - ask for a blanket if you get cold easily! Overall it was a beautiful, quiet and unique hotel.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Badia Santa Maria de Olearia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Guests,
we wish to thank you for your nice comment We hope to meet you soon. Regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Many have already written what unique accommodation this is. It reminded me of a smaller version of some Spanish Paradores, being a converted ex-monastery, but with mod cons such as a/c and flat screen TVs, not to mention the L’Occitane toiletries. The breakfast terrace is located in a grotto with a panoramic and spectacular view over the Gulf of Salerno. Vincenzo was very attentive; helping us with our luggage and parking our car (separate parking area about 100m down the road), ensuring the shuttle to Maiori was available and arranging a reservation and transport (by one of the owners as it turned out!) at nearby restaurant Il Faro di Capo d'Orso (1 Michelin star). While it is not in Maiori and a bit too far and hairy to walk into Maiori along the Amalfi Drive, there is a shuttle available and we did walk from Maiori to Minori (we agree with many other reviews that the Delizia al limone at Sal de Riso was delicious) and caught the SITA bus back to Badia Santa Maria Oleraia (bus stops a few metres away). Pietro who was working the night shift was also most helpful.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank iancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Badia Santa Maria de Olearia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Guests, all the Staff is very thankfull for your comment and happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to meet you soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed here two nights at the end of September and loved it! It's a beautifully renovated hotel by the sea. There is a busy road right in front of the hotel but it didn't bother us at all. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, immediately taking charge of parking and luggage. Parking was a short walk from the hotel but it's important to understand that you really cannot walk anywhere from this hotel as there's nothing nearby so you definitely need a car to go to other towns, restaurants etc.

We had a wonderful, small room. The bathroom was very nice although there were some problems with draining and the floor was flooding after taking a shower. Aside that, everything was perfect in the room.

Breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room is absolutely stunning! Italo was very helpful and incredibly polite!

All the staff were absolutely great!

All in all, we definitely recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Badia Santa Maria de Olearia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guests, we wish to thank you for such a nice comment and suggestions about the shower. We hope to meet you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This boutique hotel which is only 4 months old was a former monastery consisting of 8 rooms which I think the owners kept the character of the place with their decorating and the old church next door that dates back 900yrs or so according to what I heard. It is located on the side of the windy road to Maori. The upper eating area is phenomenal with its view overlooking the Amalfi Coast where breakfast is served. It is a great place even at sunset or at night-one night it was raining and lightening we went up and see lightening miles away while drinking wine (we brought our own bottle). The continental breakfast food was filling with coffee made to order which we looked forward to. They have a schedule of trips and pickups going to town by a scheduled van starting at 11am (we wish they had an earlier pickup at 10am), however, we ended up at two times taking a tax from Maori which is 8-10 minutes away at a cost of 15-20 Euros. If you have a car you have to park it down the windy road in any available space, this is not a road to stroll due to the lack of room. The hotel is very peaceful and restful, but no food other than breakfast so you need to go into town to eat which wasn't a problem for us since we were taking ferries from Maiori to other places. I wouldn't suggest this hotel for elderly or with families since it is quiet and there are stairs coming up the drive or for individuals who like to just leave and walk into town. We thought it was a nice peaceful rest to our active previous trip. We met another nice couple who loved it as well for its uniqueness.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms would give you a better view or larger since some vary.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magellan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Badia Santa Maria de Olearia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guests, we wish to thank you for your nice comment and suggestions. We hope to meet you soon. Regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The hotel is wonderful at all: rooms, views from the windows, friendly service, a magnificent terrace with a bar. The staff is always ready to help with any question or problem.
Do not be put off by the remote location. They have a shuttle-bus.

Grazie al personale per la meravigliosa vacanza! :)

Room Tip: The hotel has few rooms, but in all the beautiful views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Badia Santa Maria de Olearia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guests, we wish to thank you for your nice comment We hope to meet you soon. Regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews