We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lecce
from US$5.80
More Info
from US$86.40
More Info
Lecce Bike Tour
45 Reviews
from US$28.80
More Info
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
389
372
111
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
372
111
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman amphitheatre last century city centre other half worth seeing street level century ad the main square beautiful city old town arena piazza ruins amphiteatre foundation viewed colosseum
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

It’s an interesting curiosity. I guess the amphitheater was rediscovered in more recent times, right in the city center. It’s cool to see the partial oval that is now exposed. We were not able To go into the ruins.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

I have seen many Roman theaters and I have to admit that this theatre is in really poor condition. It’s simply lacking brightness and the stones are in bad condition. The atmosphere of the complex don’t give you that sparkling feeling when you see such an old structure. I think that the best preserved Roman theaters are to be found in Jordan instead.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Ronselaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The Roman amphitheater is located in the city centre on the square of St. Oronzio. It was built in the I-II centuries AD and could accommodate up to 25,000 spectators. However, this grandiose creation was hidden for many years, and the builders found part of the wall only in the XX century during the work on laying the foundation of the future Bank. After that the archaeologists took up the case. It is surprising that the visitors see only one third of the amphitheatre now, everything else is hidden under the ground. The open part of amphitheater is used for concerts, what we could see.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank VadimM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This was a good find in one of our favourite squares in Lecce. Our small children were very interested to learn about it which we were most pleased about as they’re only 3 and 5! Very beautiful.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This really cool amphitheater from the 2nd century is just south off the Oronzo Piazza. You can look down at it from the street level. It's still in use today! You can take in this site in about 10 minutes, so incredible to think how old it is. Parking to walk around this baroque town is a nightmare, work out where you'll park before you come.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews