We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agriturismo Il Cantiniere(Grosseto)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo il Fontanile(Marina di Grosseto)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo Beveraggio(Marina di Grosseto)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
90
134
72
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
134
72
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townstar hotelnice hoteltown wallswould stay here againwithin walking distancegood sizemarblechurchpiazzawifistaircasewoodadvisorbicyclesac
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

It's conveniently located right inside of historical wall and near the train station. You can walk around the old town any time of the day. Great restaurants are within walking distance. Hotel Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanfang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareOffice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Bastiani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Wanfangm,
thank you very much for your nice review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The location is great, just behind the walls of the old town. Easy to find parking within 5 minutes walk. Grand Hotel Bastiani breaths a lot of history, and was 50 years ago probably a 5-star hotel. Today it´s nice and ok but some parts are definitely in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareOffice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Bastiani, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Morgan,
it was really nice to receive your positive feedback about our hotel and the position.
You are right, the Bastiani has a quaint old world charm and character and it has always been the most known 4 star hotel in Grosseto since the beginning of last century. Greetings from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Read about Grosetto in Sunday Times in March. Found this hotel through Trip Advisor and booked a two night stay travelling by train from Milan en route to Rome. Grosetto is an undiscovered gem, so keep it to yourselves!!! Been to Florence Sienna and other Tuscan towns but Grosetto had virtually no tourists! Hotel is set within the town walls, seconds from the duomo and the centre. The town was wonderful with a maze of small streets and a great archaeological museum (we were the only visitors at the time!). The hotel staff were very friendly. Our room on the first floor was large and clean with air con if I remember correctly. The breakfast served down the corridor from our room was buffet style with excellent choice included in room price which was about 70 euros. The charm of the hotel was such that it was stepping back into an earlier age turning clock back 50 years. Hotel even had bikes to use but whole of walled town is easy to walk around. Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareOffice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Bastiani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Philip B,
thank you very much for your beautiful words about us and Grosseto. The Grosseto area is an unknown part of Tuscany that deserves to be known by Tuscany lovers. If you come back do not miss to visit the beautiful islands of the Tuscan Archipelago and the Tarot Garden in Capalbio, you will be amazed by the beauty of this artwork. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that you mentioned the friendliness of our staff and our service.
We'll be glad to share your comment with our staff. See you soon in Grosseto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We loved this hotel. The service is very good and they do everything to help. It is in a very good location in the walls of Grosseto. Very good shopping and restaurants close by and within walking distance. Would defiently stay again. Another plus, they have a good size lift. Where this hotel is situated is a great introduction to traditional Italian Hospitality.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on a first stay and the junior suit the second time. Both excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Landie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCareOffice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Bastiani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Landie60,
it is wonderful to arrive at work very early in the morning and read reviews where guests express their satisfaction and happiness. It is pure energy for us and a stimulus to do better. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Grand Hotel Bastiani sits in a prime location. Easy to access from the highway, but parking is a slight walk away. The front desk is very helpful. The decor is very outdated, as are most furnishings. We found the king size bed most comfortable. The carpeting throughout is in poor repair and should be replaced soonest. Overall, well priced for what you get in return. If you want 4 or 5 star quality---look elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews