We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fish restaurant in Civitanova”

Fish Bar la Muccigna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Pub, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have cultivated a dream for a long time, then we said let's do it! Here we are, we are pleased to welcome you in our Fish Bar, a place of northern European origin but decidedly Mediterranean in its realization. Our mission is in his As "The Muccigna" civitanovese term that indicates the tape of the catch of the day that the sailors put aside for their own consumption. Fish km zero, then. Worked and prepared with imagination to undermine the rules of the culinary tradition. We are not just another seafood restaurant and we do not want to be. We are a pub fish, fast and delicious as the Fish & Chips, irreverent as our salads, with delight as our fries . We are a Fish Bar, so come visit us just for a beer, a good glass of wine or a mojito inviting! The sea around the corner from us will find it not only in food but also in the environment, hot and friendly, just like the white and blue of the Mediterranean can be. With all our enthusiasm, the Muccigna (aka, John & Elizabeth)
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Extremely nice place in Civitanova. The staff is great and fluent in english. Many good dishes with surprising combinations. Even the kids are fish here! Nice atmosphere near the beach. Prices are right.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank jantheman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish_Bar_la_Muccigna, Proprietario at Fish Bar la Muccigna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Ciao Jan,
thank you very much for your kind words! Our international customers are always welcome into our Fish Bar!
We're glad to know that you and your nice family have spent a lovely night with us, so come and see us again in your next trip!
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Let's be clear, this is not a classic fish restaurant, and you won't find the same dishes you will find in the neighbourhood.
It is more like a pub with an exotic taste and lovely decorations.
It worth a try!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank D2554RFsilviaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish_Bar_la_Muccigna, Proprietario at Fish Bar la Muccigna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Ciao Silvia,
thanks a lot for your kind words!
You're right! We're not another classic fish restaurant and it's for a specific reason: who needed it?
If you wanna try something different, if you wanna eat fish like in a pub, then you choose us. Just this: neither better, nor worse, simply different! :)
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I love Fish Bar “La Muccigna”. In a “sea” of seafood restaurants at Civitanova Marche all doing the same old thing, these guys have had the courage to do something different. Judging by how busy they are all year-round it must be working. Talk about courage, there's not a pasta dish on the menu! Know what? Nobody seems to be missing the pasta or any of the tired old dishes that are too easy to find in town. Fish Bar reminds me of a place on the coast in Southern California, about 25 years ago...a neighborhood place to enjoy some simply prepared, delicious fish dishes in a relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere with two owners, Giovanni and Elisabetta, that are the best...never failing to smile, welcome you and engage in conversation, even in the dog-days of August when they're constantly workiing. I love the props they pay to the Civitanovese heritage -- “La Muccigna” is a local dialet word that in the old days referred to the simple fish selection that remained for the fishing boat crew after the prized stuff had been sold. La Muccigna is all about simple being good, and simple is the winning formula here. Simple, welcoming interior, simple menu and simple preparation. The appetizers are simple...my favorite, the calamarata is a delicious dish of succulent calamari, grilled, with a sprinkle of sesame oil, on a base of cherry tomatoes and rucola. The main dishes range from a really nicely done fish burger to some outstanding grilled or pan-prepared salmon, sword and tuna dishes – any of which will satisfy. Fish Bar changes its menu seasonally so things are always freshened up. The nicest thing about Fish Bar's food is that it's all prepared with a light touch, obvious freshness and simple presentation. You never walk out of the Fish Bar “stuffed to the gills”, but you do leave feeling seriously satisfied and well treated. So, before you try all the “same old same old” on the Civitanova lungomare, head over to Fish Bar and keep it simple.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgib61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish_Bar_la_Muccigna, Proprietario at Fish Bar la Muccigna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Ciao Kevin,
you deserve the most enthusiastic reply.. so thanks, thanks, thanks!
What can we say? One year ago everything was in our mind: Giovanni is definetely West-coasted-inspired and we strongly believed that even in a small Italian town it would have been possible to create the same atmosphere, and now..it works!
And we are so thankful for all the people supporting us day by day, like you, and it's a pleasure for us to have the chance to talk about new ideas and new dishes!
At this proposal, see you with the new menu: it starts on the weekend!
Have a nice day, sincerely yours John and Elizabeth! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Very yummy salads for a great evening meal by the beach... I wish to have more night to spend there!!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Micaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish_Bar_la_Muccigna, Proprietario at Fish Bar la Muccigna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Hi Micaela,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback to our Fish Bar!
We're proud to have international customers and let them spend a great night with us!
In case you'll return, don't hesitate to visit us again!
Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish_Bar_la_Muccigna, Proprietario at Fish Bar la Muccigna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Bar la Muccigna also viewed

Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
 
Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
 
Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
Civitanova Marche, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Fish Bar la Muccigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing