We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Iacone(Chieti)
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantina Loft(Chieti)
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Locanda Tre Pini(Chieti)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
40
51
15
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
51
15
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Been here 3 times: 2 persons, family of 4 and 2 families larger group. This place is simply amazing and beautiful. Very nice staff, lovely location and beach bar. Amazing food and perfect beach. For kids / families as well as for bikers or vacationers who don't need noisy beachlife. Easy to reach by plane.

Room Tip: top floor !
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnnSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Firstly I'll discuss Francavilla al Mare/Pescara. The modest airport is a mere 7 minute drive from the location, allowing you to start your holiday as soon as you arrive without needless waiting about and the loss of a full day - also when leaving you are able to spend the whole day there without having to catch a very late flight (Early morning flights arriving and later flights departing I suggest). The location is perfect, on the very sea front also surrounded only short walks away are restaurants, cafes, bars, a supermarket and a small groceries. The marina is quite a walk away but on bicycle a very short distance - same for the pier. The bicycles are free for the use of guests, and are an excellent way to see the surrounding area and make quick stops to the supermarket.

The beach, although crowded with sunbeds. is very pleasant, featuring a play area for younger children, several small restaurants up and down and a bar outside the hotel. On the road side of the hotel opposite, there are two self service pizzarias, the one on the right side served the most delicious pizzas, of which you could takeaway or eat in at a very reasonable price. Also opposite is the Il Bacio gelato which produces lovely traditional Italian ice cream.

The location is a win, however finding a fine hotel here can be slightly troubling. There are no five star hotels in the area and the four star hotels are higher up in the mountains - a lot further from the beach.
But Hotel Punta de L'Est is truly a classical hotel which should boast four stars. Our rooms were in the loft of the old hotel which has been modernised in all areas, we had a balcony with the perfect sea view, and despite lower expectations of the rooms size we found it was quite spacious. We were accustomed to a deck chairs and beds on the beach and table at the restaurant. Each of our group was given free WiFi accounts and passwords for our stay which is available every in the hotel and on the beach.
The only aspect holding the hotel back from receiving five stars in my opinion, is the food and drink. Breakfast is slightly plain and no cooked breakfast is offered but it is adequate. Meals of an evening are also adequate, the pastas were all very good but other options lacked and after your pre-starter and starter you felt slightly full by the time your main was offered. The desserts were okay, choosing a bowl of fruit was however the best option which is why I suggest a visit to the gelato across the road. The only problem with the drinks was the dodgy cocktails - at least it was a laugh.
The staff had impeccable manners and were very kind, from the bike/bed man to Franco the waiter in the restaurant. It should be noted that Pescara has a very small percent of British tourists (most being Italians) and therefore the majority speak very little English if any. It may be wise to revise some basic Italian phrases as the language barrier is prominent.
We stayed for just a week, the temperature and weather was perfect throughout - which is predicted in this region of Italy during the summer months. The only rain was at night and clouds on one morning soon cleared up by midday.
A beautiful part of Italy for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are quieter and on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had two one night stopovers here and were pleased we chose this hotel as it certainly looked the best of all the others we saw in this resort. All the staff very helpful and efficient . Food in the restaurant adequate, but uninspiring. This is probably best for families with children, as the hotel is right on the beach. Every where spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Dont get one near the busy road on the land side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

If you're looking for a summer 'no worries' solution, specially when traveling with (young) kids in Abruzzo -nearby Pescara, this is the place!

This family driven (since two generations) Hotel is ON the beach: so no need to worry about walking under the burning italian sun with the pram charged with all the beach-toys whilst Junior is crying for an ice-cream, crossing the street every time you get to or from the beach, or getting crazy finding a parking spot each time you want to get a dip.

You check-in, park your car in the parking lot and...forget about it, unless you want to visit this nice region following the good tips given by a very professional and friendly staff.

We stayed over with the 'all-in' formula, for two weeks mid-August: grandparents (in their 70ies), children with spouse (30ies) and a toddler (1y1/2). And everyone found it's happiness.

Tasty 3-courses multiple-choice meals, a rich vegetables buffet and on-demand prepared meals for the little one got rid of any discussion about 'I don't like it'. The dining-room is always impeccable with fresh white tablecloth, the efficient waiters have a perfect timing in serving, always with a smile.

On all points (reception, bar, restaurant, beach, cleaning) service is hyper-friendly and if they can fulfill your request, they'll do.

The beach is equipped with a bar & terrace, a kid's playground, toilets/showers (a bit outdated though), rows of umbrellas/lounge chairs (billed separately depending on your needs). You can ask to have a 'Palma' (big umbrella palm-like) on the very first row, seafront: it's the solution we picked and it was perfect to keep an eye on Junior running after the waves or filling his bucket to do sand castles.

The hotel itself if made of two wings, one newer, the other one renovated -over 2 floors.
No elevator.
Most of the rooms have a balcony (haven't seen them all), air-conditioning, TV, minibar, safe and you can request sea-view.

A tip: If you are tall/in 'good shape', or need much space under the shower, make sure specify it when booking as some rooms/beds/shower cabins can be a bit tight. This said, we spent most of the day outside!

Cleanliness is top-notch everywhere and towels changed daily.

We were there for 'Ferragosto' (15th Aug) which is the big summer holiday in Italy: aperitivo drinks where offered on the restaurant terrace, there was a special menu and a dancing evening on the beach terrace. A quite nice experience, as the one we experienced a few days before the 'wish-lanterns night': all along the coast, on the beach-shore, thousands of paper lanterns were lit up and sent to the sky resulting in a magical evening.

Additional services: 1 hour a day free wifi access, kids animation in the afternoon, cradles & high-chairs available.

Francavilla al Mare, where the hotel is located is not really a night-life place.
But if you are with family you won't mind and will be happy not to have the club right under your window. ;-)

For after-dinner activities, you can go out like italians do for a walk (passeggiata) and have the ritual gelato. On the Place in front of the hotel there are two ice-creams shops: we loved the one on the left corner for it's natural ingredients and traditional production.
Another small shop not to miss is the shoe shop 'Piccola Positano' (right side of the place): there you can 'build' your preferred italian-leather sandals by picking between different soles, buckles, styles, leathers. They will be adjusted to your feet and ready within 24h.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews