We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Iacone(Chieti)
US$80
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frontepista(Chieti)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
102
30
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
30
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nighttiny villagevery special placecastletastingmileswinevineyardsgpsmountainseuroscenturyweddingdark
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We spent one night here to celebrate my wife's birthday. What a wonderful experience. From exploring the interesting old Castello, to a picnic in the garden, and the joy of staying for one night in the penthouse suite with the 360 degree views of Abruzzo. We give it the highest recommendation. A little hard to find, but use your GPS and make sure the town name is Semivicoli. When you get to the town head up to the church. The Castello is connected to the church. The gate will likely be closed, so press the call button to reception and they will open the gate for you. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We opted to spend extra for the top floor suite. Great furnishings and great view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful experience spending two nights in a castle. The structure is beautiful and so is the surrounding landscape. The ladies at the reception are always nice and helpful.
Our junior suite was also quite nice, on two levels with a loft and a big bathtub (even if I would expect some problems of privacy if shared with older kids, since the bathtub is in the room). We spent two days in darkness, trying to figure out how lights worked and realizing that in fact that was it! There were no actual lights but only dim lamps that kept us continuously in darkness. We had to use the light of our phones to find things in our suitcases.
The motion-activated lights in the corridors switch off very easily if you don't move for a second, suddenly leaving you in the dark surrounded by stairs!
Internet is a notional concept (wifi never works). But OK if you want to disconnect.
The castle is the only tourism structure in a small tiny village with nothing in it, not even a small shop to buy some water! Other historic structures in the village are not restored and falling apart. Nowhere to walk and no place to eat without driving quite a few miles around. It was a great experience for a fist time in a castle, but not sure we will stay there next time we visit the Majella.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gir0vaghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel was more like a peaceful castle with excellent service and excellent service and it's own winery. It's run like a family business with a wonderful team. They were so kind bottle of wine for our honeymoon.
The pool is amazing and so are the surrounding views. If anyone is ever considering to do a wedding I would definitely select this as a choice.
Words cannot explain the beauty of such a lovely and charming ambience.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Jaw droppingley beautiful location and amazing building thoughtfully restored and presented throughout.
Breakfast in old kitchen was perfect in its choice and freshness. Very reasonable home produced wine available for tasting and quaffing. Wifi access frustrating and long winded and often reception deserted. A definite for us to return to.

Room Tip: Get one with a view as opposed to some that have limited natural light. They could also do with some additional clothes storage space.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyMadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

What a delightful time our family had for two idyllic nights @ Castello! We arrived early evening and had a light dinner of aperitifs and wine before turning in. We signed up for their wine tasting lunch which was a treat. It was held in a stately room and we enjoyed lunch and several types of wine. After that, we were in no shape to leave the property so we spent the afternoon longing at their beautiful pool! Our rooms were renovated, comfortable and unique. Views were gorgeous . The manager/ sommelier was informative and the receptionist gave our family of 5 a delightful tour of the property. We will return if we return to the area. Wifi was not very good but it was hard to notice!

Room Tip: Ask them to keep you out of the old prisoner's quarter's since those rooms are not as bright.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cynfis1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews