We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but surprised it was Michelin starred”

La Veranda del Color Hotel
Reserve with
La Veranda del Color Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: La Veranda del Color, the restaurant of the Color Hotel, awarded with 1 star from the Michelin Guide, Italian cuisine served in a creative manner, with traditional dishes....but innovative, a well stocked Cellar with Italian Wines, organization of personalized events, weddings, birthdays, business dinners, weekly special dinners, roof top terrace with a panoramic view over Lake Garda for special events.
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Was staying at the hotel and ate here twice. We did the meat taster one time which was nice and then the a la Carte which again was nice. But neither were mind blowing. If you want to drink wine by the glass the choice is minimal. The decor does not feel right for Michelin starred but that might be in part because it was where we had breakfast. The service was ok but variable. Some waiters explained the course, others did not. It only does dinner.

Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Color_GuestAssistant, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Veranda del Color Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear BirminghamNetty, thank you for sharing your experience and your impressions about La Veranda del Color. As you can see from other reviews, there are guests which are enthustiastic of the ambience, but of course it also a matter of personal taste. For sure, the atmosphere in the evening is quite different from the morning, it's more intimate and romantic. Thanks and best regars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Went here on the last night of our holidays and had a really enjoyable meal.
We went for the meat tasting menu and each course was spot on, ample portions and all cooked very well. Slight complaint was the lamb was not as pink as I would like it but not over cooked.
The desert was to die for and normally at the end of a tasting menu I am not in the mood for one but it was superb, light, citrus fruits awaking the mouth.
Staff were very professional but relaxed and friendly.
Atmosphere was low key but a gently buzzy atmosphere.
Yes more expensive than other places but the food quality explains why, would happily return.

Thank msav1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Color_GuestAssistant, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Veranda del Color Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you, msav1975! We are really happy to know you appreciated at most the quality of the ingredients and the service we provide. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We booked this place as it is one of the few Michelin Star restaurants across Garda - and we were not disappointed.

The restaurant is tucked away to the right of the hotel's main reception, but is somewhat secluded by the partitions that separate the restaurant, the corridor and the outdoor swimming pool. Immediately on arrival we were greeted by what I assume to be the head waiter, who saw us to our seat.

From then on, the service was impeccable. I am not sure if this is standard, but every waiter and the maitre d' visited our table at one point for various reasons - one to take our order, one to recommend us the wine (a lovely slightly aged local wine, the Bardolino Superiore was what we settled on eventually - from an extensive wine list!) but it was never overbearing.

The food was exactly what you would expect - a complimentary mackerel dish was given before the starter, which was an interesting cold beef tartare, and the main course, which for me was a succulent lamb loin with soft aubergine. Added to this is the bottomless basket of breadsticks and focaccia. It is comfortably some of the best food I have ever eaten.

I am not sure what the other reviews mean by atmosphere - it wasn't particularly busy but the restaurant is refined and quiet with soft music, which is perfect for a couple's meal out. The atmosphere is exactly what is to be expected - if you prefer loud guests and the clang of pots and pans from the restaurant then by all means steer clear, but the atmosphere was delicate and relaxed and complimented the food and wine.

The highlight for my other half, however, was by far the free handbag hook with the restaurant's logo on it!

1  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Color_GuestAssistant, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Veranda del Color Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thanks a lot, Josh G! We really appreciate to read all the details of your experience at "La Veranda del Color" and are happy to say, you catched many essential points about our service and our philosophy. Thank you for sharing them. Of course you are welcome anytime you will be visiting Bardolino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We went here for dinner- other reviews say it lacks atmosphere I would 100% agree-
The service was top notch
The food was great-
for us we think that there are so many beautiful restaurants by the lake that this just can’t compare, so like I said it depends what you’re looking for- for us atmosphere and ambiance kind of makes the evening along with the food and service.

1  Thank Lovetotravel4086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Color_GuestAssistant, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Veranda del Color Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Lovetotravel4086, thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear you appreciated the service and the gourmet courses.

As for the atmosphere, we agree with you that it depends what you are looking for. In fact, we are happy that we can differentiate from lake front restaurants or those with a more typical flavor, as far as ambience is concerned (without taking anything away from those restaurants! ). Still, we have many guests who keep coming back also because of the charme of our "Veranda" and its unique style.

Thank you for visiting and for your comment. Wish you a good summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had to book a day in advance for this Michelin-starred restaurant. The decor is elegant, the food is good (as you would expect), but we did not come away feeling we had had a really special experience. Service was also a little erratic and we had to wait some time for the food to arrive.

Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veranda del Color Hotel also viewed

Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 

Been to La Veranda del Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing