We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for Italian Breweries”
Review of La Mangiatoia

La Mangiatoia
Ranked #31 of 193 Restaurants in Alassio
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Let start with the main problem of the place : the location and its surroundings : nothing great around. I just spotted this as the place would be very successful in a better location.

Anyways : great service, the beer is very very qualitative. If you thought that Peroni was the only italian beer, pay a visit :)
Really beer for connoisseurs and people fed up with drinking always the same (poor) beers.

On top of that : they gave us "tapas" from great providers.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alex4mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We are coming to alassio every year.
since our first trip we are coming to this location.
service is excellent and personnel. after the first year (we alwals come for 1week) they could remember us and were happy to see us again. since then we are always excited to come to this restaurant.
you order a beer and you get so good free stuff as appatizer. I can't reccomend this place enough!!! just go there and enjoy the good beer and the atmosphere. it is gorgeous :)
thank you guys!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Yannick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

A special place in Liguria where you can find a great beer corner with a restaurant with home-made style meals. A full experience where you can enjoy a bar, a restaurant and a pub all in one. When you are there please ask the staff for suggestion for which beer you can try, you'll be surprised to taste a beer like never before.

Date of visit: December 2015
2  Thank Francesco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Cheers for starting a new business on Alassio's Main Street, a place that has seen more closings than openings. They have taken an old bar and turned into a bar with a kitchen, but not a kitchen with a bar. To call this a gastropub is a stretch. Their logo includes the words: "Craft Beer", and there are 9 spigots at the bar front, along with a substantial array of other kinds of booze. Wine bottles around the outside wall suggest there are other options. It is more of a saloon atmosphere and they haven't spent very much, if anything, on decor. A patron standing just outside the door smoking, with the smoke coming into the room doesn't add to the experience.

There are a number of new or newish options in Alassio for people who are looking for red meat. The chops and chopped meat in a refrigerated case outside the kitchen suggests these folks may be taking fresh meat seriously. Our 300 gram burgers, infused with truffle oil were not bad, but those at several other local establishments tasted better and were prepared by chefs rather than what appeared to be a short order cook.

I don't want to be overly critical, but the "music", clientele and ambiance is a little too 20 something and blue collar for me.

We ordered "black beer" from Bologna, which turned out to be a faux Guinness. Neither Ireland nor Germany need worry. The bartender also needs some practice pulling. I prefer not to have 4 centimeters of foam and more pouring over the glass as it is brought to the table.

The staff is friendly, and some customers seem to be enjoying themselves. Consequently, they won't miss us.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mangiatoia also viewed

Alassio, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Alassio, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Alassio, Italian Riviera
Alassio, Italian Riviera
 

Been to La Mangiatoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing