We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B VillaSeta(Agrigento)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albachiara B&B(San Leone)
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Diana(Agrigento)
US$156
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The 4 Seasons(Agrigento)(Great Value!)
US$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akramar Village(Agrigento)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,892)
Filter reviews
1,892 results
Traveller rating
1,380
336
111
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,380
336
111
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcordia templetemple view roomprivate accesspresidential suitesmall luxury hotelfive star hoteldirect viewstunning locationterrace restaurantwonderful hotelterrace overlookingperfect viewgreek templelit up at nightlovely poolpastabreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,892 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations! It’s a great location, beautiful, very comfortable rooms and great staff. Our room was a suite with a very comfortable bed, roomy bathroom and a nice sitting area. We did not have a view of the ruins but they are visible from most of the public spaces on the grounds. We had dinner in the outside restaurant and it was a wonderful experience. The food was excellent and we dined while staring at the gorgeous temple and listening to the hotel’s pianist. My only regret was that I didn’t have more time to spend here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank pepper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early June 2018, at the rate of 400 Euros per night. At that rate, one would at least expect a quiet, restful sleep. However, that wasn’t the situation that we experienced. The first night of our stay was quiet, but the second night was very bad.

On June 9, 2018, there was a noisy party going on that included loud rhythmic music and loud rhythmic chanting. This continued until well after midnight, which rendered sleep extremely difficult. Then, there was crowd noise, laughing, yelling and screaming just outside my window until 1:00 AM. It is stunning that the management can be so inconsiderate to its guests.

The Villa Athena characterizes itself as being a 5-Star establishment, yet abjectly failed at the most fundamental function within the hospitality industry: providing guests with a good night’s sleep.

Admittedly, the hotel did have positive attributes: it was in a nice building, the breakfast was good, the hotel restaurant was very nice, and the proximity to the archeological park was convenient. However, if it’s a quiet, restful sleep that you’re interested in, this is unlikely to be the place for you and I’d suggest trying a different (and far less expensive) hotel a few miles down the road in Agrigento. As far as we’re concerned staying here was stressful, infuriating and an appalling waste of 800 Euros. All in all, a terrible experience.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary_M44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gary_M44,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to read that your stay at our property was not up to your expectations and that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
We are glad to read your positive comment, but let us clarify what happened on the 09th of June, during your stay: we did host a private event at the hotel garden, but the music was stopped at 11.30 p.m. and all the guests left the property no later than midnight.
The "noisy party" that you mentioned was an event that was taking place in a private property in the same area of our hotel and, even if it was not an inconvenience caused by the hotel, we did take care of that reporting the fact to the local authorities.
We remain at your total disposal you should need any other clarifications.

Best regards,

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We arrived at the Villa Athena to be told that our room was unavailable due to plumbing problems. We had really looked forward to staying there as we wanted the view of the temples and this was to be the highlight of our tour. They offered to find us a room at the local B&B which we were told was of a good standard. However it was not the standard we required, partly because at this late notice the best rooms were already taken. They arranged transport to and from the B&B and for us to have dinner and breakfast in the hotel. This was important as I need to eat in the hotel I am staying in because I have severe food intolerances. Dinner was on the terrace so we did at least get our view of the temples although the weather was chilly and we needed warm clothes. It was good but expensive, you are paying for the location which is stunning.

Given the stress and discomfort we experienced, our stay in Agrigento was ruined, we felt a 15% discount off dinner and a free breakfast was inadequate compensation. We would have been better off if we had booked another hotel of a similar standard, the dinner view was not worth the uncomfortable night.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of temples
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank siobhanmuskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Of course, the location of the hotel with its private entrance to the archeology park and the view of the Temple whilst dining are the two biggest selling points of this hotel. However, the rooms are clean and lovely. To save a little money, I booked a room on the ground level of the hotel which did not guarantee a view of the Temple. However, my room was only a few feet from a lovely pool and I was delighted with my choice.

We dined in the hotel restaurant both nights of our stay. The atmosphere is perfect with the view of the Temple lighted at night and a talented piano player providing background music. The presentation of the food in the restaurant is gorgeous, but the food itself is average quality. However, I would choose to eat in the restaurant every night given the atmosphere. Truly special.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed for four nights as part of our week in Sicily. We did not find the hotel first time, but once we had it was very straightforward and is a good base to explore the area.

We had a suite with our own little area of garden and a superb view of the Temples.

There was plenty of room and we were pleased to find some treats for us on arrival, although my wife does not like almond and as there was a emphasis on produce including almond it did mean I got more than my fair share.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and there was plenty of choice with nice strong coffee, but like many hotels the warm offering is just that, warm rather than hot.

We had lunch at the hotel a couple of times sat on the terrace, which was very pleasant and had dinner twice, once on the terrace and once in the restaurant. Both were pleasant with very good food, although on the night we ate in the restaurant the service deteriorated as the evening passed and became very slow and inattentive after we had our mains.

As it was my wife's birthday, and a significant one that day, not being looked after so well was a bit irritating. (It was probably worse for her as the last three years when we have been away on my birthday to Madeira, I have been spoilt with treats in the hotel room and in the restaurant).

The pool area is very relaxing and well looked after and we managed to swim a few times despite the weather not being all that warm.

The hotel is very nice, although expensive, the staff very friendly and mostly efficient. Overall, we did enjoy our visit very much.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews