We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change from Sicilian food”
Review of Ginger-people&food

Ginger-people&food
Ranked #8 of 281 Restaurants in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was just round the corner from our rental apartment and we decided to try it on our last night. Food was good , when it finally arrived.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MersMajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018

I love Italian cuisine, but it is simply not possible to eat like Italian many day in a row for me. I visited this place with my boyfriend and we were the only guests - I am sure if this restaurant was located in Berlin or Warsaw it would be constantly full!!! The food was amazing, you could feel that the products are local and of good quality. We got an out-of the-menu starter - fried triangular pouches filled with spicy meat (amazing!) and we shared a plate of couscous with seafood, which was full of flavors and light on our stomachs, unlike typical pasta. We also got a complimentary platter of local cheese and honey and it was so tasty, that we bought a jar for us! It is a shame that local people are not often guests in this place as the restaurant is using all that Sicily has best, just in a different form than the traditional, Italian one.

Thank you for the amazing dinner!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ariadna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo R, Direttore at Ginger-people&food, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank hou very much Ariadna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

After weeks of primi’s and secundi’s, it was time for a change. We discovered Ginger on tripadvisor and when we arrived we were surprised that there weren’t a lot of customers. Why is a complete mystery, because it was delicious! The capote, couscous and sea bream were all excellent, especially thanks to the very intense flavouring. So was their drink ‘ginger’ and the dessert of the day, hibiscus & honey ice cream. Must-visit if you like African food!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank raidersofthelosttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing dinner. Two of us shared the couscous diaba, couscous seafood, and the chicken curry and rice. Both were so full of flavours. Portions were huge and our server was wonderful. It's a definite go to! You might not think of having west African cuisine in a place like Italy, but you have to try it. Seafood was so fresh!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hamiltonfoodie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Simply AMAZING! What a lovely change of pace. After weeks traveling in Sicily, we were rather tired of the TRADITIONAL island dishes--pretty much the same everywhere. Ginger was a GOD send! The menu represents a creative fusion of African-inspired local dishes, prepared meticulously. Everything we ordered was delicious. We thought we died and went to heaven :) Kudos to the wonderful chef.
In fact, it made our short stay in Agrigento worthwhile. We would have eaten here every day if we had stayed longer. The 'Wiri-wiri'(a starter) was so flavorful. We will try very hard to emulate it when we get back home to our kitchen. The local wines served with the meal were also perfect. Our server was very friendly,accommodating and did a great job explaining the dishes to us. The decor was contemporary and interesting.
The only 2 things we would change:
1) either change the chairs or provide cushions
2) server should NOT turn her back to guests while conducting endless conversations with the owner. We had to wait for a while before we could get her attention--to ask for the check.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger-people&food also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Ginger-people&food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing