We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
356
161
57
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
161
57
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the harbour tall ship spa bath bistro menu fish pie the pub fantastic location eden project single room rashleigh arms great room no lift st austell brewery one night stay short break high standard well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Pier Hotel staff especially Kim in reception were so friendly & helpful. The room was large & comfortable. The options of a la cate or bistro dining on the deck overlooking the port was so great after a day travelling,very relaxing. Food is great & well priced. Great base as so many things to do & see. Eden Project & The lost Heligan gardens about 10 miles away, lovely walks along the coast. Perfect place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank d0ssies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Many thanks for the feedback provided following recent visit. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

a stay after visiting eden project, a great quaint hotel/pub in Charlestown, St austell, beautiful setting, hotel was very clean and comfortable, no lift but was ok and parking was 100m away but no issues, food and breakfast was great and good quality would recommend a stay here, good beers and drinks as well, beds were comfortable

Room Tip: sea view is the best and worth the extra 35 gbp
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iana424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are really glad you enjoyed you time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed as in the area to visit the Eden Project. It has been 15+ years since I stayed here and it has been updated a lot but still has its charm. Unfortunately the weather was bad so not able to sit outside but enjoyed the bar food and beer. Room was nice with harbour view but was on the pricey side.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MaureenMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you down here very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Stayed here overnight on the 15th July 2017. Couldn't fault anything about this little boutique harbour overlooking the Harbour.
Food was excellent and plentiful. We ate in the restaurant overlooking the harbour and the lamb rump just melted in the mouth. There was so much food we had a job to eat it all.
Our room was on the top floor with spectacular views out to sea. Very clean, shower room was excellent.
Sunday morning breakfast -- far too much to eat but well worth it.
Would highly recommend this little hotel if you want a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor sea facing room to get the best
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Many thanks for your review following recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We love the Pierhouse restaurant, having dined here for the last four years when on holiday and it has never failed to provide us with delightful meals. The standard of service is faultless and the atmosphere has always been peaceful and relaxing.
The hotel & restaurant is situated in the lovely, unspoilt harbour of Charlestown, famous for being the location for the recent TV drama Poldark. You can literally step back in time and enjoy great food at the Pierhouse.
We visited twice during our week stay in St Austell and chose the Cod In Thermidor Sauce with prawns and vegetables, the Steak, which was cooked to perfection and we also tried the Hake - all dishes were just superb.
Reasonably priced meals of very generous proportions, which are expertly cooked. With a menu to suit most people and the great service, combine to provide a satisfying experience which we have received time after time.
My advice is to book in order to avoid a disappointment because this restaurant can be busy at times.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you John for this review, we are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your food with us on all occasions. We do hope to keep welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews