We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice atmosphere”

The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$50
Description: Steakhouse and seafood restaurant located near the beautiful Charlestown harbour.
Restaurant details
Description: Steakhouse and seafood restaurant located near the beautiful Charlestown harbour.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We visited here on a friends recommendation. We arrived slightly early and the staff showed us to our table. The service was great with friendly staff. I had the scallops to start and the lemon sole off of the specials board which were both excellent. My wife had the sticky beef and pork belly which she could highly recommend. We couldn't manage a pud but they looked good.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank wanderingalbatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2021

Having eaten here a few times in the past and found it quite good our visit this time in June was so disappointing. We had a nice table and the staff were very good as was the wine, the problem was the food. I had Oysters they came on a plate, no ice and pre prepared with a Tabasco like sauce. This is not how to serve expensive oysters and they were not very nice anyway. Main course Hake a delicate and lovely fish but served skin up on some unpleasant soggy lettuce and covered with a handful of fried bits, again not how Hake or any good fish should be served. They were busy and no doubt under pressure but the good staff were let down by poor chefs.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021

Brilliant meal last night. Scallops/arancini to start. Mussels/lemon sole/celeriac steaks for main. Lovely choice of puds. Warm, friendly and efficient service. Highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank tonghamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

We were treated to a fabulous meal at this lovely restaurant. Our daughter and I had the scallops starter and probably the best fillet steak we have ever had, cooked to perfection and my husband loved his hake dish too. Great service with a smile, great food and atmosphere. We loved the huge shell lampshades ! Altogether a fabulous evening ! What a lovely start to eating out after over 2 years of lockdown etc.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaxadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

We were staying in Charlestown to celebrate a very special wedding anniversary. It involved a card from the Queen. We chose the Longstore to celebrate and it was a wonderful evening. We started with a glass of Champagne. A wonderful gesture from the great Longstore team.
I love fish and the sea bass in a dill and lemon butter with samphire was recommended. OMG. It was fabulous. The samphire had been dusted with flour and deep fried. Heaven on a plate. My husband chose fish too and loved it. We managed to share a lovely Cornish Milk Panna Cotta. Rose water jelly, dark chocolate shavings, pistachio and cardamom shortbread. A dessert invented by a genius.
Thank you to the Longstore Team. You are great.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Longstore Steaks & Seafood also viewed

Carlyon Bay, St Austell
 
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to The Longstore Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.