We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
111
135
55
48
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
135
55
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive centre barasti huts nice huts outdoor bathroom rental equipment beach bar beautiful bay double bed star resort low tide nice beach long weekend sun loungers clams accommodation bungalow cem
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Do you want amazing views? Do you want an amazing beach? Do you want outstanding food?

This is the place you must go in Muscat! It is only 15 away from the city but it is very worthy to visit for a day beach or stay in one of the cabanas (book in advance, there are only a few).

The price is not very high and the relax and the quality of the venue is great!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

I remember coming here over 25 years ago when it was known as the ODC (Oman Dive Centre) when there was little more than a pool, training room, slipway and dive boat.

Renovated in 2016 by the Muscat Hills Group, it has been renovated and upgraded, but not lost its castaway feeling.

Though why they insisted on using their own name on the resort when the real 'Muscat Hills' is about 60kms away I will never understand. How to confuse a tourist!

With 35 barasti huts at one end of the beach the resort is very boutique, peaceful and relaxed. Residents have their own private section of beach. The in laws weren't massively impressed with the outside bathrooms! In the heat of summer or mosquito season this wouldn't be my idea of heaven either. As it was the weather in April was perfect and it was lovely to shower out in the fresh air in a relatively basic but large bathroom. The rooms are pretty sparse, though the beds thankfully have a mosquito net and AC is now included in the rooms. There are small terraces in front of each hut with seats, perfect for sundowners.

The other half of the beach has a beach bar with lounge seating and sun loungers for day trippers. The club sandwiches and salads were good. Shisha wasn't the best I have ever had and had to get them to sort it about 3 times before it was right.

There is a much improved modern restaurant and bar by the reception area. Food isn't great to be honest and the evening menu doesn't quite hit the spot. It's trying too hard. All we were looking for was good seafood done well and this isn't what we got unfortunately. Why would put lobster with leeks, wasabi and honey? I just asked for it done grilled with a lemon and butter sauce - perfectly cooked actually, but they didn't provide any veg or potatoes or rice or salad with it. Now, for 17 Rials (AED170), I'm expecting something!! The staff aren't quite clued up.

On our second night we ordered the whole cooked fish. Disappointing again; overcooked and dry. Such a shame. We complained but nothing was done. You'd expect some kind of make up. A little glass of something or a free dessert or a replacement or it removed off the bill... The music was pretty bad too and inappropriate choice and volume for the clientele when we were there. Incessant trancey house isn't what families, couples or quiet hen dos want over dinner!

Breakfast had run out of croissants by 10am and the poached eggs were far too vinegary. Again, overpriced for 10 Rials (AED100) when there wasn't much choice. We didn't want a full breakfast on the second day, but there is no other option. You can order drinks, but you can't order off the menu until midday - by which time I was starving! Another option here would be good.

I make it sound bad, but actually we thoroughly enjoyed our stay apart from the food. The cove is one of a kind in this part of the region. An exclusive bay for your use only. No long line of 5 star hotels next door. No full service package here - a kayak and SUP if you must. Just a beautiful stretch of golden sand and turquoise sea to enjoy and forget about every day concerns. Bliss.

Room Tip: Some huts are right on the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

If you would like to stay just for a day on the beach in Muscat, have some nice rest by the sea view, swim and have nice lunch it is the best option. The resort offer day pass with good price comparing with another hotels. It is included sun seats, umbrella, wifi, hotel facilities. I visited this place in April, the beach was quite, very chilled. Food and drinks are not included in day pass, and prices kind of high, however to find better option will take time for you.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabeVit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Nice bay, charming huts with outdoor bathrooms. Dinner overpriced and mediocre with too loud music. Breakfast better. Did snorkeling with Oman dive center on the hotel property. Instead of taking us to the promised place, they took us 5 minutes to the next bay over (by the beach of the adjoining property) which we could have easily done ourselves had we known by car) and avoided the 20 OMR fee per person. I am experienced snorkeler and diver (couldn't dive due to flight later that day) and divers dropped off nearby- not worth the money. Once divers dropped off, we were left with a non-English speaking boat driver and no clear instructions on how long we had. Small point: if you want to identify fish, bring your own card since they didn't have any fish identification guides- normally on any dive boat.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ElaineEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed here twice within last month. In the end of March, the vibe was on board with their monthly end of month beachclub party, where the vibe is friendly, busy, and cool. The flip side was my stay last Sunday, which presented a much quieter vibe, enjoyed no tv’s on the whole property, very chill workout by the beach and swim in the cove. Open air rooms with mosquito nets a nice touch. Their own organic plants grown to supplement their menu. Very few people were there but everyone was friendly. Highly recommend you check our Muscat Hills while the weather is right. A once-in-a-lifetime private getaway, where the vibe is family; opposite of commercial... bring a book to read.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank JasonAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews