We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
62
17
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
17
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt sunday manager chef lovely hot shower a wonderful stay two nights perfect location rooms are clean stayed longer mt potts lotr heating nz hosts 4wd campervan accommodation campers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

This place is wonderful.
The rooms are clean and the view is beautiful.
The owners are kind and the food was surprisingly good, really good ( the bread and all the dishes are homemade !!! )
A magic place to stay.
My compliments to the staff.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 94iacopob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Thank you for your kind words, it was my pleasure. hopefully see you again

Kind regards, Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

Mt Potts Lodge is a wonderful little hideaway tucked in the New Zealand's back country surrounded by breathtaking mountains and beautiful rivers. We stayed for 2 nights in our campervan from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day. It was a Christmas we will always remember. It's located just a short walk away from Mount Potts and Mount Sunday where Edoras in Lord of the Rings was filmed, so it was definitely the perfect place to stay for our Christmas adventure.

Lloyd (manager and chef) and his team are truly one of a kind and were so welcoming, friendly and accommodating. They all go above and beyond to make sure you are happy. Without a doubt we were very well looked after.
Lloyd is an exceptional chef and we were treated to some incredible food in his restaurant. We were so surprised by the variety on offer and each day had a different delight for you to choose from. I can truly say it's some of the best food in NZ.
The amenities were all so close to where we were camping it was so easy to roll out of bed and have a lovely hot shower!
We loved it so much, we really didn't want to leave.
Thank you so much Lloyd for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLW1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2020

Thank you very much for staying with us , it was my pleasure and i hope to see you guys again soon.

Kind regards, Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2019

We went here in our campervan and absolutely loved it. This lodge is beautifully located, surrounded by spectacular mountains and rivers. The staff is also one of a kind, very welcoming and friendly. The manager/chef, Lloyd, makes beautiful meals and the best hot chocolate. We were originally planning on staying just one night, but ended up spending two more!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tuva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019 via mobile

Mt Pott is of course one of the many high mountains around Mt Potts lodge. We were there to walk to Mt Sunday where the town Endoras in Lord of The Rings movies was made and filmed. Nothing is left of the scenary they made but the hill and landscape is breathtaking and experiencing the surroundings keeping the films in mind is fascinating. Well worth the day spend on this.

We chose to stay at Mt Potts lodge. The accommodation is not luxery but more than comfortable and enough for people who enjoy walking in the mountains. The varity in the bar is limited but you get a cold beer or a nice wine when you need it. The menu in the restauranr is different. Several interesting and different dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the menu is changing every second day. It is all made of local ingridients and from the bottom, no quick fixes! The chef, Loyd, is young but an experienced cook. The slow cooked lamb with risotto the first evening and the pulled pork burger we enoyed the next were unexpected and tasteful surprises. Well worth the stay alone!

The lodge is managed by Loyd, and while we were there nicely assisted by his mom. He is a nice guy who really want you to have a good time and makes his best to accommodate you!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Phrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We popped in for a snack and ended up ordering dinner. Two dishes that hit the spot. We were very inpressed with the skills of the manager/chef. The view was amazing and we really recommend dropping into this lodge.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JulieB8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Potts2017, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Thank you for coming up and I hope to see you again.

Regards, Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews