We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
61
17
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
17
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt sunday manager chef a wonderful stay two nights perfect location rooms are clean mt potts lotr 4wd campervan accommodation nz campers host kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We popped in for a snack and ended up ordering dinner. Two dishes that hit the spot. We were very inpressed with the skills of the manager/chef. The view was amazing and we really recommend dropping into this lodge.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JulieB8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Potts2017, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Thank you for coming up and I hope to see you again.

Regards, Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Mt Potts Lodge for two nights on a photo shoot. The location is simply amazing! The accommodation was immaculately clean and perfect for what we needed. The hospitality was excellent! Special mention to the food... the chef, Lloyd, was stellar!! Such a treat to come to a rural lodge that isn’t pretentious and somewhat basic to be blown away by the quality of the food. All freshly prepared onsite using local ingredients. This young man has talent!! We will be back :) Dan & Leonie

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank leoniea831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Potts2017, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you for your kind words, It was a pleasure hosting you guys and hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

The most spectacular view we have seen so far, and the host did a fantastic job, making us an unforgettable meal. The kids even tried the rabbit caserole even through they have rabbits at home...
They liked it.
Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank roedkaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Potts2017, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Surrounded by a beautiful scenery and nature is this hidden gem.
My daugther s, my husband and I ended a perfect day in Hakatere Park here. Welcomed by the friendly host, who served us a wonderful meal. We all had a wonderful time and will be back for sure. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pernille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Mt. Potts Lodge was the first place we stayed in New Zealand, and, after two months traveling the country, it still remains one of our favorite spots. We went to see Mt. Sunday/Edoras of LOTR fame, but the countryside is spectacular, if remote. We ended up being the only ones there, but the manager Teja and chef Lloyd were great hosts. Clean bed, delicious food, fabulous view—what more can you ask? Amazing customer service too, as they delivered a forgotten pair of hiking shoes to Christchurch for us. Definitely above and beyond! We’d love to come back sometime for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Skizoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews