We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
62
17
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
17
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hot shower wedding party stayed longer mt potts microwave nz heating hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2019

a group of 18 of us stayed two nights at Mt Potts 6 in Stag cottage the rest in hotel rooms. We were all very happy with our clean comfortable accommodation. Our dinners for both nights were delicious and reasonably priced. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Wonderful view and lots of walks on offer. A wonderful morning at close by Erewhon riding a wagon drawn by Clydedales.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieR273
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening here. The rooms were comfortable, the food was great, the staff very friendly. The location is absolutely beautiful and and easily accessible to Mt Sunday if you're a Lord of the rings fan.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lxs182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mt_Potts2017, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you have enjoyed the place and we wish to see you again! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Wish we had stayed here but we camped for free by the lakes further south. We had some of the best burgers ever after hiking Mt Sunday here and a wonderful, fresh salad in lieu of fries. I suggest staying and also eating here!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 505Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 December 2018

A location with a lot to offer but offers nothing , the top level rooms are good but the level of service or even care is extremely low , there is a good restaurant and bar facility but they do their very best to make sure you don't use it , a shame as this could be a very good lodge but it will need to be taken over by somebody that actually cares and has an interest in it. Bring what ever you need as there is nothing here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank OliverWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

After a long, rattly drive we came to this place and it had a great feel. A cabin-style setup made it feel like you're visiting a private mountain lodge with animals greeting you from enclosures all along the driveway. Tall trees gave some shelter without blocking the incredible view of the mountains.

We parked our campervan on the grass near the main building with our bedroom window facing the mountains only to be rewarded with the most stunning sunrise-colours on the hills.

The lodge has a pool table, although it had seen better days we still really enjoyed a couple of free games before retiring. Staff were friendly, welcoming and even helped set up our caravan at the site. We were the only van there so had choice, but there is enough space to spread out.

We had power to our van so cooked up a storm but realised we didnt have vegies. The chef was kind enough to just cook up some roast vegies which they even brought out to our van to complete our meal.

They had ducks, goats and even deer up in the mountain which you could go check out. It's also a short drive to Mount Somers (LOTR location) which was so beautiful and peaceful (commercial tours are not allowed here so no large buses of mobs). We loved the entire feel of the place as it's not touristy and super quiet.

If there was any feedback it would be that the toilets could do with a little spruce up, but they're by all means bad. Also, the park is on a little slope so might need to play around with positioning a caravan if you want it perfectly level. Also a bigger wine selection would be fab - although I think we may have come at a time when they were low on reds. Being remote they can't get access to supplies as easily.

There is only satellite wifi here as it's too remote for 4G so buying internet access is expensive. Best to go without the internet for this one and just enjoy the remoteness of this awesome place.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AlexxxOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews