We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning place to stay on perfect beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Stunning beach and beautiful views. Beautiful sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Stunning beach and beautiful views.
Beautiful sunsets
Outside, covered, Dining area
Front View of the house in the evening.
Dining table
Terrace at the front of the House
Terrace table outside the downstairs bedrooms
Amazing Food cooked for you.
The 3rd lovely double bedroom upstairs
Our first double bedroom
One of our single rooms upstairs
Another of our single rooms upstairs
The Kitchen where Ranga, the chef, cooks you an amazing meal!
The bathroom in the double bedroom
Our second double bedroom
View from the bedroom looking on to the beach.
Relax on our hammock and read our book whilst looking over the beach.
Outside lounger on the terrace
Upstairs seating on the balcony with fantastic views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Talalla, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catriona...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning place to stay on perfect beach”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. We rented one room for 3 nights. The food cooked by Ranga is some of the best food we ate in a month in Sri Lanka, and the staff were very kind in taking care of me when I was unwell from a previous meal. The house is really beautiful and the beach is one of the loveliest we've ever seen. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thankyou kindly for your review and compliments. I will relate the compliments back to Ranga. He will be very happy! Please come and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea E
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful house on a wonderful beach”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Talalla Bay Beach House. The house is right on the beach, which is probably one of the nicest, undeveloped beaches in Sri Lanka. It’s a beautiful house with only 5 rooms for rent, so it feels small and personal. There is no AC but cool at night with the sea breeze and the fan. The house is very tastefully decorated with lots of little areas to chill out, with stunning views of the perfect beach and turquoise water. And great food by the very friendly chef. Can’t recommend this place enough.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Warmest thanks for your kind review and compliments. Yes, i couldn't believe how gorgeous the beach was when i first saw it too! So glad you had a good time. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obbie75
Oosterhout, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise (Ranga-Style!)”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just perfect, this old Colonial beach house is 10 steps away from a quiet untouristy beach. You wake up, take as swim in the ocean, have a shower and enjoy breakfast! We visited this place at the end of our 4 week tour of Sri Lanka, and only here we truly managed to relax. It's just beautiful! The beach house is nicely decorated, beds are good, it's fairly clean (only minor point of improvement: the crew should put a bit more effort into keeping this place clean).

And the food? Ranga is your chef and he knows how to cook, enthousiastic, creative, it's just jummy! Try the rotti, try the fish curry, try the pasta (and make Ranga a happy man!): it's all 100% Ranga-Style!

The Talalle retreat (5 minutes walk) offers yoga classes and has a surf camp, a perfect combination!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Ah thankyou so much for your kind review and compliments. Yes we love Ranga style too and we are so glad you had a wonderful time! The staff have now improved on their cleaning skills.
We hope you can come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balderoo
Copenhagen, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect beach retreat”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I spent 2 nights at the beach house with my girlfriend, and we simply loved the place! Hidden at the end of an almost empty beach, it is perfect for getting away from the more crowded beaches and standard resorts in the area. The staff is really nice and helpful, the place is clean and well kept, the food they make is gorgeous and it's good value for the price. It's the only place actually _on_ Talalla beach, the few other places to stay at Talalla are hidden away from the beach.

While the house if fairly simple, they offered all we needed to relax and have a good time. There are two really good authentic restaurants in walking distance (ask the staff), if you want to order from a menu, and at the neighbouring (more touristy place 5 minutes walk into the woods) you can pay for swimming in a pool, yoga lessons, a bar and surf lessons if you like.

The staff can also arrange fishing trips with the local fishermen, and are very knowledgable on the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
Dear Balder.
Thankyou so much for your kind review.
We are very glad you had such a wonderful time!
It was great to have you there and we hope to see you again there soon. Give us a call!. Warm regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikiTolo
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, awesome food”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The location is perfect -- at the end of a beautiful, long, undeveloped beach. The ocean was great fun to swim in, with waves to dive through or body surf on. Be careful with kids, because there is definitely a current that can sweep them onto the rocks and then out to sea. But strong swimmers will have fun! The ocean/beach are magnificent!

The food was awesome. Ranga the Cook/Manager understood our likes/dislikes immediately (e.g. no garlic, but yes spicy). The meals were presented beautifully, tasted excellent. Both western and Sri Lankan.

The house is not really a villa, more like a collection of individual cinder block rooms opening onto a verandah (both upstairs and downstairs) with a dining area (open) next to the kitchen. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough with clean bedding (Barefoot brand, very nice) and towels (old). Bathrooms also cinder-block/cement, but clean. Hot water showers functioned perfectly!

Kitchen is a bit gnarly, so I wouldn't inspect it.

This is a down-to-earth place in a very beautiful setting. It is not a luxury villa, and it does not have luxury service (though Ranga was nice and very friendly). My rating is based on this understanding.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2014
Dear Beatrice.

Thankyou so much for your kind review and feedback.
It really is a gorgeous spot and we are so very glad you had a fabulous time!
The Kitchen has now been painted and had work done to it
Please come back to see us again sometime!! Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$252
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing