We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
332
202
60
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
202
60
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phillips family sea view a family run hotel golf break two courses golf club small gym stunning location swimming pool cliff top games room some tlc night break sunday lunch tea and coffee short break fantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This hotel sits in a prime spot overlooking Whitsand Bay, in the village of Portwrinkle. It commands superb views of the bay and out to sea. It has outdoor seating at the front, great for fine weather.

We stayed here for a weekend - dinner, bed & breakfast package - and had a very mixed experience.
The good bits first:
* The restaurant served very good food, beautifully presented. We enjoyed two very fine evening dinners here and they could not be faulted in any way. The breakfasts were also ample, with a good cold buffet selection and nicely cooked hot dishes. The staff were friendly and helpful.
* The swimming pool, whilst not large, is heated to a comfortable temperature and we enjoyed using it. The deep end is 5' 9", but there is a small separate children's pool.
* The lounges are comfortable and exude the atmosphere of an old country club.

The not-so good bits:
* The bedroom we stayed in was simply awful. It had insufficient socket-outlets, only one being accessible (with difficulty). The chest of drawers blocked the other double socket, and resisited my efforts to move it.
* The very badly-designed bathroom had a sink that stuck out far too far, making access to the shower and toilet problematic unless you were a beanpole. The shower cubicle, whilst producing adequate amounts of hot water from the shower head, was tiny and there was hardly enough room to turn round in it.
* The bed, whilst having a very comfy & firm mattress, was supplied with simply the worst pillows it has been my lot to rest my head on. After a short while they compressed to just a few small lumps of filling, making sleep fitful and of poor quality.
* This hotel advertises spa treatments, but during our stay they were not available, due to the therapist being on holiday! It would have been nice to have known this in advance.

Be aware that there is no wifi in the rooms and probably never will be, due to the structure of the hotel. This is not a complaint, just an observation BTW.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This wonderful old hotel towers in gothic splendor over Whitsand Bay, Their restaurant offers a very reasonable lunch special, with 2 courses for £12:95 or 3 for £15. The menu is varied, though somewhat predictable, and we were very happy with our food. My friends and I had a starter and a main, and between us we sampled Smoked Mackerel and Pate, both served with a nice fresh salad of mixed greens, followed by scampi, chips and peas and Thai Green Curry, We washed it down with a bottle of Chilean Red, again reasonably priced at £18. We ended the meal with tea and coffee in the lounge, which was included in the price. If the waiting staff were a little less reserved, I would have given this meal five stars. We were greeted with a grunt when we arrived!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Easter Sunday lunch outing with 30 friends and we weren't disappointed.

Could not fault anything.

Superb picturesque venue, first class service, spotless presentation, very comprehensive set menu with plenty of choice for each course, more than ample helpings, all at a set price for the three courses at less than £20.

Oh yes and the food was of the highest quality and cooked to perfection.

Well pleased, thank you to all for your efficient professional attention.

Room Tip: Take the sea view...superb
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Tuff2pls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I spent a night here before my wedding and the hotel was amazing! Easy to find, very accommodating. Beautiful old building. We got a room overlooking the water and it was perfect! The only thing I struggled with was there was not a real shower just a shower head over the bath. I paid for a family room and it was reasonable size with a tv. Everything you needed for a night. Tea and coffee in your room was helpful too!

Room Tip: Definatly worth paying for a sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We recently stayed at Whitsand Bay hotel on a Gentlemans golf break. We have stayed here a number of times over the year. The rooms are clean and well equipped with a comfortable bed ,although it would be great if wifi extended there. Great selection of beer in their friendly bar. The restaurant has always been good but if anything the menu selections are even better than before. The golf course has been improved and coupled with the amazing weather and spectacular views could not have been bettered. The hotel offers fantastic value for money and could not recommend highly enough. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews