We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Batchcott Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Picklescott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Emma T
1 review
“perfect!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently stayed at batchcott hall attending a wedding party and have to say our weekend was perfect! The place itself is absolutely beautiful, and immaculately kept, the gardens and tennis courts were a fantastic suprise and the treehouse/trampoline were amazing for the children! We hardly saw them all weekend! Have to add, the host Eileen was amazing! Anything we wished for she provided

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed the weekend, and that. you enjoyed a lovely family wedding celebration. We hope to see you all again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarHturne...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding celebrations”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had the most amazing time here, can't think of a better place for our wedding celebrations, the garden was perfect for a garden party, beautiful views and an amazing place for the children, so much to do, tennis, trampoline, lovely walks etc, our weekend was exactly what we wanted it to be! And we couldn't have done it without Eileen! She was such a good host, so many contacts for tables, balloons etc, all of our guests commented on what an amazing place it was and want to return soon! I can't wait to go back! Thanks!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you, it was a pleasure to be part of your special day, and such fun planning and working with your family, Batchcott wishes you both every happiness for your future together and you will always be welcome to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
784angek
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing House and a Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Batchcott for a long weekend in February half-term. We were a group of 12 with 6 adults and 6 kids aged from 10-17.

The house is just amazing. We were met on arrival and given a tour of the house and we couldn't believe how enormous it was. The living room, dining room and kitchen are huge and really comfortable. The photos really don't do the rooms justice. We easily sat 12 around the dining table so were all able to eat together. There was a log burner and a real fire, perfect for toasting marshmallows.

The kitchen was stocked with all the essentials - we had taken everything, not expecting this, so was a real surprise. The welcome treats from Eileen, the house manager, were really thoughtful and a lovely surprise too. The aga made the kitchen really cosy, but we used the extra cooker just as much. We took it turns to cook on each of our 3 nights and this worked brilliantly. The kitchen is so well equipped with good quality cookware.

Upstairs is enormous too. Every bedroom was spotless and spacious and the beds were so comfortable. The bathrooms were beautiful and fully stocked with soaps, shower gels and fluffy towels.

Outside was great too. The garden was massive and there was a lovely big terrace with garden furniture. It was too wet for us to sit out, but this didn't stop anyone playing in the tennis court and garden. The tree house was brilliant and we all loved the trampoline too. In the warmer weather, with the doors opening from the kitchen and dining room onto the terrace, we know it would be just perfect.

This was the biggest, most comfortable, warm and welcoming house we have ever stayed in and would very highly recommend to everyone thinking of a group holiday. Eileen was so helpful before we arrived and was there if anything had occurred during our stay, though nothing did at all. Thanks for making us so welcome. We would love to return one day.

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed your group staying and you would be very welcome if ever you want a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmasR900...
Earls Barton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in lovely location with very personal service”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for an annual get together for 3 families and had a fabulous time. The house is beautiful and very spacious, lovely and warm with great facilities and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Eileen the house manager was so welcoming and flexible in meeting our needs - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we hope to return next year!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, Batchcott lends itself to these lovely family groups, and we will look forward to catching up again next year.
Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
461lesley...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A memorable family birthday celebration in an outstanding house set in an idyllic part of the UK.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house is a little off the beaten track (approx. four miles of single track road) but persevere as it is well worth it! Eileen is an exceptional House Manager providing thoughtful welcoming gifts, who was on hand if needed but not imposing. She even put away our online shopping order, which arrived before we did!
The 18th century house is very homely with open fires, creaking stairs and uneven floor boards but the many ensuite bathrooms are modern and spacious.
The weather for our weekend was very kind which meant we could take advantage of the tennis courts, tree house and trampoline - the children loved it! I would love to make a return visit in the summer.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretending to be 'Lady of the Manor' in an imposing home
Liked least: A little difficult to find on first visit.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for your booking, it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and you are always welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.