We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter in Docking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Halfpenny Cottage

Halfpenny Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Halfpenny Cottage
Halfpenny Cottage Oak Beamed Living Room with Open Fire - Great in Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Halfpenny Cottage
Halfpenny Cottage
Oak Beamed Living Room with Open Fire - Great in Winter
Bedroom 1 - with ensuite
Living Room
Living Room
Open Fire - Logs and Coal provided
Bedroom 1 - Kingsized Bed
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom with Power Shower
Garden Room with games console - great for the kids
Garden Room
Garden Room
Great Location to explore North Norfolk
Well furnished throughout
Butler Sink
Modern Kitchen
Modern Kitchen
Dining Room
Oak Beamed Dining Room
Halfpenny Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Docking, Burnham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tribeatki...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easter in Docking”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent Easter week in Halfpenny Cottage. The house is comfortable and well equipped to cater for all. We were a party adults and small children and there was space enough for everyone. The beds were comfortable and the house was well heated and clean.
The surrounding area has fantastic beaches, we built sandcastles and flew kites. The children loved it. Castle Rising is worth a visit and there are plenty of places to eat out.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalyn I
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We traveled from Canada for our 1st Christmas with family in the UK for 15yrs, inc my 87yr old mother. I asked the owner if they could perhaps put up some Xmas decs so it felt seasonal. It was delightful, it was decorated so nicely, from the Christmas tree in the front lounge and table garland and candles in the dining room. An extra special treat was the hamper of goodies left for us in the kitchen which inc Xmas cake, local preserves and chutney, wine, local apple juice, biscuits. The open fire in the front lounge and plenty of wood and coal was also very appreciated. The cottage I understand is over 200yr old but it has been very sympathetically decorated and is comfy and cosy. There is just a small spar grocery, pub (excellent food) and fish n chip shop in the village, however, it's well located for many other towns and attractions. I would definitely book to stay again. My only criticism is that because it is pet friendly (some wonderful local places to walk your dog) it did smell of dogs. We managed to eradicate this downstairs after a few days but the bedrooms especially the master continued to smell. I think the carpets should be steamed cleaned and then pet owners requested to keep their pets downstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire, big dining room with lots of games
Liked least: The smell
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review. We always request that when guest bring dogs that the dogs are confined to the communal areas of the house and not allowed upstairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallybrad...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Phil and Sue who own Halfpenny Cottage have created a very comfortable place to stay. We needed somewhere for 6 adults and one 22 month old boy and this cottage suited us perfectly. Everything was very clean and well laid out and there was a lot of thought about additional items to suit everyone such as DVDs, books, toys, cutlery and crockery for youngsters, cot and high chair. There was an open fire available with plenty of logs and coal but we didn't need to use it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great size and layout
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon M
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super holiday cottage”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed early June and found a really comfortable cottage that suited us well.
We find Docking is a really good location for a holiday situated so close to the many beautiful beaches on the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
156Phoebe
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely cottage and lovely Christmas”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Cosy Norfolk cottage. Log fire, ideal for winter break, near to the beaches and plenty of dog friendly pubs.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing