We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sheer bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballycurrin Lodge

Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Aerial View Your Own Boat (May to Oct)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Aerial View
Your Own Boat (May to Oct)
Front View
Slate Bed Pool/Snooker Table
Sun Room
Living / TV room & Kitchen
View fro Kitchen
Front Garden
Bedroom 1 (KIng)
Bedroom 2 (King)
Bedroom 3 (King)
Bedroom 4 (Twin)
Main Bathroom
KItchen
Horse Riding in Spiddal, Connemara
Ballycurrin Lighthouse (in winter)
Belclare 'Point-to-Point' Racing
Killary Harbour/Fjord Famine Walk
Catch of the Day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Headford, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Damien121
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sheer bliss”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was looking for somewhere where my family & I could unwind and where I didn’t need to drive around too much for things to see & do.
Ballycurrin Lodge was certainly that & more. It was a beautiful house in beautiful surroundings. There was a huge enclosed garden for the kids to play and for 2 hard working parents to sit and read and indulge in a glass of wine or two. The house had a range of bikes so we all went out cycling to explore the local area – the trip to the old lighthouse was very enjoyable. As the house also comes with its own row boat and fishing rods we tried our hand at fishing every day which we all really enjoyed.
After 3 days of relaxation we were then ready for daytrips to nearby Galway, Cong (stunning small town where the Quiet Man was filmed) and Glengowla Mines (well worth a visit).

We had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat_C55
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breath-taking setting, family friendly comfort”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ballycurrin Lodge has a breath-taking setting on the edge of Lough Corrib. It is one of the few properties with an unrestricted view that includes the mountains of Connemara to the north and fabulous sunsets over the far side of the lough.
The house is well set up for an extended family: three very comfortable bedrooms, two baths, and lots of play areas including a small tv/media room, a game room, sunroom, and lounge. You can easily accommodate a larger group and not feel cramped. Given that we stayed in summer, our favorite was the sunroom with its expansive views and comfortable seating. Had we stayed in winter I imagine we might has spent more time around the fireplace in the lounge.
The house comes complete with a boat, which we took advantage of to fish the lough--plenty of large brown trout that make a great dinner. The owner has equipped the house well with plenty of sporting equipment for the family, such as bikes, all in good shape. The surrounding countryside offers plenty of walking or biking opportunities.
The kitchen is well outfitted for all but the most gourmet of cooks, with plenty of pots and pans, utensils, and dishes. Groceries are available at Headford, about 4 miles from the house.
The owner is wonderful to work with--very accommodating and informative. He supplied full instructions for the house and information about the area, which made our stay easy and enjoyable. The western area of Ireland offers much in terms of scenery, history, and outdoor activities, and we plan to return to Ballycurrin Lodge soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect for those who love peace, quiet, scenery, and outdoor activities
Liked least: the road to the house itself is quite narrow--makes driving an adventure for Americans!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house location so close to the lake and the large open fire
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olivier21...
Villeneuve, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelleper...
Gradignan, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$216
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing