We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio Olive Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio Olive Cottage
Double bed in Family Room Olive Cottage Living Olive Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Patio Olive Cottage
Double bed in Family Room Olive Cottage
Living Olive Cottage
Family room to en suite bathroom Olive Cottage
Al fresco Dining
Family bathroom 1 Olive Cottage
Double bedroom Olive Cottage
Family bedroom Olive Cottage
Swings
Garden
Breakfast bar Olive Cottage
Bathroom Olive Cottage
Dining Olive Cottage
Olive Cottage
Family Bathroom Olive Cottage
Family bathroom Olive Cottage
Outside dining
BBQ and dining
Anyone a glass of wine!
BBQ Domaine view
Some of our animals Horse, Emu and Goats
Troopa the pony enjoy the sun
going for a walk on Domaine de la Matte
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Conques-sur-Orbiel, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
galiabira...
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage for families”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a great 2 bedroom unit for families. Very clean, comfortable and practical. Well equipped with everything one might need, down to the burning wood for the fire place. Carcassone is a short drive away, is a lovely place to visit, but the big yard and the farm animals were a big attraction for the kids. Jil was very welcoming and a great host. Will come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy L
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Host doesn't bother to advise of double booking”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

During six weeks traveling we stayed in several apartments and farm stays and were delighted with the high quality of accommodation and service provided by our Portuguese, Spanish and French hosts, many of whom spoke relatively little English.

Ironic that the only poor communication and mis representation we encountered was at a farm stay cottage run by a native English speaker.

The I really wish Jilly had let me know as soon as she realised that she'd let the 2 bed, 2 bath I booked months in advance to someone else. I spoke with her a couple of days beforehand so she had my mobile number as well as my email when she realized she'd double booked but waited until we arrived to explain that she was giving us a three bedroom, ONE bathroom unit with ‘nicer beds’ instead. It was entirely inappropriate for Jilly to decide what would be acceptable to our party. A shared bathroom was not acceptable. She also assumed that a bottle of champagne would compensate us. Perhaps she knew I'd ask for a refund and go somewhere else instead had she let us know in advance that the booked cottage was not available…I'll never know. Our party of three was floored by her announcement, didn't want the champagne found the situation awkward and uncomfortable. It was too late to go anywhere else, especially having forded a stream and driven dirt roads to get there. We were only staying two nights and decided it would cut into our visit to Carcassonne too much to find a couple of hotel rooms for one night, especially as the Wi-Fi there was too slow to book somewhere else online.

By the way, be careful following your GPS to get to Domaine La Matte. You can get there on mostly paved roads without a stream crossing. Perhaps email Jilly for directions when you confirm that your rental really is available.

Jilly had tried to make us comfortable and had a fire going when were arrived and wine available for try and purchase. We sampled the red but found it undrinkable. Best to byo. The Carefour you'll probably pass on the way has a good selection.

Jilly very kindly tumble dried clothes for us. We had been traveling for over a week and had booked the fully equipped Olive cottage to prepare some meals as a respite from constantly eating out and to catch up on laundry. Again, be careful to check actual facilities as our original booking for Olive Cottage on Flipkey listed a dryer in the amenities, but Jilly informed us it really didn't have one.

We cooked a meal but the rusty old vegetable peeler, lack of other utensils, avoiding chipped crockery/cracked glassware and having to wash crockery which had been put away dirty, made it far more negative than it should have been.

Bathroom was mostly clean but the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. Sitting area was comfortable and we were looking forward to catching up on some English news, but Jilly couldn't get the satellite TV to work. She said she'd done the wiring herself.

I've had so many wonderful experiences at homes, apartments and farm stays booked through the web. Sadly this farm stay was the exception.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareJBur...
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful home from home”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Jilly is amazing, the effort she puts into these rental cottages! She really has thought of everything and more! The cottage was so comfortable, cosy and clean, renovated with charm and character. We arrived to a warm welcome from an effervescent Jilly who had the super stove burning for us, and planty of information to help us make the most of our 3 night stay.The bedrooms were simply furnished but lovely, and my 11 year old daughter found the bunk bed very comfy! The bathroom was spacious and modern with a fantastic hot shower, the living spaces were spacious and extremely well equipped. We also had sky television so we could catch up with the news and weather back home and a c.d player, though my daughter enjoyed the t.v music channels! We were out during the days and had plenty of great places to visit even though it was a little out of season, but you would need a car to see them.
The cottage is self catering and has great kitchen facilities, but despite this, every morning Jilly brought us a delightful breakfast in a basket!
We thouroughly enjoyed out stay in this quiet and tranquil spot surrounded by vines and views of the pyrenees, what's more it is extremely good value for money! Thank you Jilly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review
Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg B
1 review
“Good accommodation, lovely bit of France, amazing hosts”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was decent, it had everything you needed for a relaxing holiday. The kitchen had all the bits and pieces you needed along with a good oven and cooker. Would have been nice to have a bath but the shower was decent so not a big thing. The cottage was toddler friendly with high chair, cot and baby bath provided.

The accommodation is about 15 mins drive from Carcassonne - close enough to be really convenient but far enough away to be quiet and remote enough to really feel like you're away. There are loads to do in an hours drive or less. We loved the lake with beach towards Mazamet - a 30 min drive perfect for a toddler nap.

What really sets this place apart is Jilly who is really helpful, friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. She knows the area really well and always has a suggestion of things to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveroch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Home and Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Jilly last Easter with our two small children, 2 and 5. From the start we were made feel right at home by our hosts.
We had some problems with our rental car and had to get a taxi from Carcassonne. As soon as we arrived we were offered refreshments and assistance with organising alternative transport arrangements. Our stress disappeared straight away.
The cottage itself and it's surroundings were absolutely perfect with miles of trail through the parklands beside the house. If you are looking for an absolutely authentic South of France farmhouse then this is the place. A beautiful garden with play area for our kids and even a pool, weather permitting- We couldn't have imagined it better.
It is about a 15 minute walk from either of 2 villages where you can pick up the essentials or about a 10 minute drive from the nearest large supermarket. Carcassonne itself is about 15 minutes away by car or you can get the bus (infrequently but very cheap) from Villegly. There are plenty of other small villages with fine food to be had and the area is stunning to drive or cycle through with Cathar castles on the hilltops.
Carcassonne itself is an outstanding Medieval town but get there early before the droves of daytrippers arrive.
Jilly and Damon couldn't have been nicer to us and the breakfast they provided was top notch too. Our little girl even had a crush on Jilly's son by the end of the holiday :)
All in all we had a fantastic stay and would reccommend La Matte to anybody just wanting to get away from the rat race and enjoy peace and quiet in a perfect location with the perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- the place was perfect
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing